HammerDown! Race Gear online store.


Drivers List




Yearbook Headlines - ...Another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further.

25 Greatest Sprint Car Drivers of All-time

40 Most Exciting Drivers in NARC History

HammerDown! Race Gear

online store.

Always open.





Jay Drake

2003, 2004, & 2005 All HammerDown! Team Member


Drake initiates Iowa Speedway in USAC National Sprint Car victory - HD Staff - Newton, IA. - 09/17/06 - Jay Drake won the first USAC National Sprint Car feature ever contested at Iowa Speedway Sunday. The new 7/8's-mile paved track drew 24 cars. Josh Wise, the series points leader finished second followed by Billy Wease, Michael Lewis, and Bobby Santos III. (Summary)

Drake opens title defense, Sweet debuts, in Eldora USAC Sprint - By Dick Jordan - 03/28/05 Rossburg, OH. ...Jay Drake of Val Verde, Calif. and teammate Josh Wise of Riverside, Calif. will help christen car owner Tony Stewart's newly-acquired Eldora Speedway in this Saturday night's "Don Branson/Jud Larson Classic," the opening event of the 2005 Valvoline USAC National Sprint Car Series. Stewart acquired the track from legendary race organizer Earl Baltes at the close of the 2004 season and Drake, the defending national champion, holds the 1-lap track standard of 15.232 seconds. Wise, last year's USAC National Sprint Car "Rookie of the Year," won a pair of races on his way to 10th in the series standings. He and Drake will pilot Tony Stewart Racing Mopar/Vital Express Eagles. Cory Kruseman of Ventura, Calif., who drove a Stewart entry in 2004, returns this Saturday to drive for Keith Kunz Motorsports in one of his selected Midwestern appearances. Kruseman has moved back to California to compete fulltime there and has already won twice in this year's USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series, including last Saturday night at Perris, Calif. Josh Ford of Camarillo, Calif., "Co-Rookie of the Year" in 2004, also returns for the Eldora opener, along with 2004 Valvoline "Indiana Sprint Week" Champion Levi Jones of Olney, Ill., Jon Stanbrough of Jamestown, Ind., USAC Triple Crown Champion Dave Darland of Lincoln, Ind., and rookie Brad Sweet of Grass Valley, CA. Drake is also a two-time and defending champion (2000, 2004) of the "Branson/Larson Classic" and will be joined Saturday by 2001 race winner Tracy Hines of New Castle, Ind., USAC's 2002 National Sprint Car Champion.

Drake gains IRP glory and RRS points - By Dick Jordan - 08/05/04 ...Indianapolis, Ind. ...Jay Drake of Val Verde, Calif. captured Thursday night's "J.D. Byrider 100" USAC Weld Racing Silver Crown race at Indianapolis Raceway Park, opening the track's "Kroger SpeedFest" activity. Drake won the pole starting position in his Team Mopar/Vital Express Eagle/Mopar, owned by George Snider and NASCAR star Tony Stewart, then proceeded to lead all 100 laps for the victory. "I finally got the monkey off my back," commented Drake in victory lane, referring to his past IRP success which has failed to produce a feature win in various types of racing. "I'm pretty happy. If I'd just won the pole and went home I'd probably be happy! I'd only won two of the Silver Crown races before this year and now we've won three in a row! That's pretty good!" (Read the whole deal)

Drake rakes $14,000 + in Pikes Peak Silver Crown - Fountain, CO. 07/04/04 ...Jay Drake of Val Verde, CA. won the 60 mile USAC Silver Crown race at Pikes Peak International Raceway Sunday. (More)

Drake Silver Crown Star at Pikes Peak - By Dick Jordan - 07/05/03 - Fountain, CO. - ...Jay Drake of Val Verde, Calif. wheeled his Team Mopar Beast to victory in Friday's 100-mile "Rocky Mountain Classic" Weld Racing Silver Crown Championship race at Pikes Peak International Raceway in Fountain, Colo. The win was a record 15th for car owner George Snider, who co-owns Drake's car with NASCAR Winston Cup Champion Tony Stewart. (read it all)

Back to HammerDownUSA.com