The HammerDown! Poll: Future Superstar

HammerDown! Store

HammerDown! Publications. Now on sale in the HammerDown! Store

Royal Blue HammerDown! Beanies! $14.99 - BUY NOW!

Art Spaulding Photography Portfolio

Drivers Index

Golden State Challenge

WoO 2003 Schedule

WoO 2003 Winners







David Allio captures images at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. PHOTOS!


Yearbook Headlines - ...Yet another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further.

HammerDown! Race Gear

Drivers Index



DRAKE GABS "ROCKY MOUNTAIN CLASSIC" 100-MILER VICTORY IS RECORD 15TH FOR CAR OWNER GEORGE SNIDER Jay Drake of Val Verde, Calif. wheeled his Team Mopar Beast to victory in Friday's 100-mile "Rocky Mountain Classic" Weld Racing Silver Crown Championship race at Pikes Peak International Raceway in Fountain, Colo. The win was a record 15th for car owner George Snider, who co-owns Drake's car with NASCAR Winston Cup Champion Tony Stewart.

Drake took the lead from series point leader J.J. Yeley on the ninth lap and never looked back, leading the final 92 miles around the 1-mile paved oval for his second career win in the series. He previously won at Knoxville, Iowa in 2001. Yeley started on the pole with a speed of 141.559 mph but lost the early lead to former series champion Paul White at the start. He regained the lead on lap six but yielded to Drake on lap nine.

Yeley eventually finished 20th, three laps down after two pit stops. His series point lead slipped to 15 points over runnerup Dave Steele who finished seventh Friday. The series resumes July 31 with the "J.D. Byrider 100" at Indianapolis Raceway Park, part of the track's Kroger Speedfest. Eric Gordon of Indianapolis, Ind. posted his best finish of the season, a second, followed by Chet Fillip, Tracy Hines and Dave Darland, who came from 25th starting position after winning Friday's 15-mile "qualifying race."

Drake averaged 115.102 mph for the 100 miles, which were interrupted by only three caution periods.

USAC WELD RACING SILVER CROWN SERIES STANDINGS 1. J.J. Yeley 301 2. Dave Steele 286 3. Tracy Hines 274 4. Dave Darland 257 5. Jay Drake 237 6. Brian Tyler 203 7. Paul White 185 8. Tyler Walker 154 9. Chet Fillip 147 10. A.J. Fike 139 home.

HammerDown! Publications

Page 1

Page 2