Murgoitio wins USAC Western Sprint Car feature at Shasta Raceway Park - By Bobby Gerould - July 9, 2005 - Anderson, CA. ůMike Murgoitio started inside row-two of the USAC Western Sprint Car 40-lap feature event at Shasta Raceway Park Saturday evening. At the drop of the green flag, pole-sitter Tim Barber assumed the lead but somehow Murgoitio nudged his #80 into contention with a nifty maneuver in turn one. Barber, and Murgoitio battled side by side down the back straightaway with Murgoitio edging in front on the inside of turn four. As it turned out - that was the winning pass. "It was awesome. The car hasn't rotated like that all-day", said the Meridian Idaho driver who was the 2004 series Rookie of the Year. "We made several changes to the car after the heat race and we hit it right just in time for the feature."

Murgoitio was never challenged once in front in the non-stop event that lasted all of ten minutes. He became the sixth winner in six 2005 races for the entertaining series. The event was finished by 9:15 PM in warm, breezy weather.

The best racing for the fans was reserved for fourth place in a race-long contest between Brian McClish, and rookie Kody Swanson. While Barber and 2004 USAC Western Sprint Car Champion Tony Hunt were running nose to-tail for second place, Swanson was trying various racing lines to find a way by McClish. On lap 32, Swanson scooted to the inside of the front chute and pulled even with McClish before beating him to the inside of turn one to complete the pass.

Hunt meanwhile raced hard with Barber for the runner-up spot but never could get around the Ken Pierson owned #14. Barber wound up second at the checkered flag with Hunt in-tow. Swanson was fourth, and McClish fifth. Sixth through tenth fell to Cody Veenstra, Michael Trimble, Brad Bumgarner, Scott Hansen, and Chris Petersen. Trimble was the Weld Racing Hard Charger of the night for starting 12th and finishing seventh.

Veenstra, and Trimble were heat race winners. Swanson captured Earl's quick-qualifying honors by turning the fast paved 1/3-mile oval in 14.884 seconds. The USAC Western Sprint Car series continues July 23, 2005 at Rocky Mountain Raceways in Salt Lake City, Utah.

VALVOLINE USAC WESTERN SPRINT CAR SERIES RACE RESULTS: July 9, 2005 - Anderson, California - Shasta Speedway

QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Kody Swanson, 75, Swanson-14.884; 2. Brian McClish, 04, McClish-15.030; 3. Tony Hunt, 94, Kaiser-15.052; 4. Mike Murgoitio, 80, Murgoitio-15.212; 5. Cody Veenstra, 07, Veenstra-15.276; 6. Tim Barber, 14, Pierson-15.326; 7. Brian Geiszler, 44, Geiszler-15.423; 8. Brad Bumgarner, 88, Bumgarner-15.442; 9. Chris Peterson, 18, Petersen-15.538; 10. Chuck Maddox, 23, Maddox-15.548; 11. Scott Hansen, 3F, Finkenbinder-15.650; 12. Michael Trimble, 15, CTR-15.697; 13. Peter Gobel, 27, Gobel-NT.

FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Veenstra, 2. Petersen, 3. Hunt, 4. Swanson, 5. Geiszler, 6. Hansen. NT

SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Trimble, 2. Bumgarner, 3. Barber, 4. McClish, 5. Maddox, 6. Murgoitio. NT

FEATURE: (40 laps) 1. Mike Murgoitio, 2. Tim Barber, 3. Tony Hunt, 4. Kody Swanson, 5. Brian McClish, 6. Cody Veenstra, 7. Michael Trimble, 8. Brad Bumgarner, 9. Scott Hansen, 10. Chris Petersen, 11. Brian Geiszler, 12. Chuck Maddox. ------------------------

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-40 Murgoitio.

NEW USAC WESTERN SPRINT CAR STANDINGS: 1-Hunt-363; 2-Swanson-352; 3-Barber-349; 4-Murgoitio-312; 5-Bumgarner-292; 6-Brian McClish-281; 7-Michael Trimble-264; 8-Cody Veenstra-262; 9-Chris Petersen-201; 10-Shauna Hogg-197.

NEXT USAC WESTERN SPRINT CAR RACE: July 23 - Salt Lake City, UT - Rocky Mountain Raceways


HammerDown! Race Gear online store.


Drivers List




Yearbook Headlines - ...Another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further.

25 Greatest Sprint Car Drivers of All-time

40 Most Exciting Drivers in NARC History

HammerDown! Race Gear

online store.

Always open.