The HammerDown! Poll: Future Superstar

HammerDown! Store

HammerDown! Publications. Now on sale in the HammerDown! Store

Royal Blue HammerDown! Beanies! $14.99 - BUY NOW!

Art Spaulding Photography Portfolio

Drivers Index

Golden State Challenge

WoO 2003 Schedule

WoO 2003 Winners







David Allio captures images at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. PHOTOS!


Yearbook Headlines - ...Yet another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further.

HammerDown! Race Gear

Drivers Index



Haulmark All Star Sprint Results - Portsmouth Raceway - Sat. 7/5/03 By Scott Hall PORTSMOUTH, OH - Utilizing a softer right rear tire than his competitors, Jason Johnson was the dominant force Saturday night at Portsmouth Raceway Park in the Haulmark All Star sprint car Ohio Speedweek 40 lap finale. Johnson's fourth win of the season was worth $10,000. With his second place finish Dale Blaney won the Ohio Speedweek points championship by one point over Chad Kemenah 598-597.

"When they watered the track it made it awesome. I got to run about 20 laps around the top. That makes it a lot of fun," Johnson recalled "I really have to thank the HTI crew, Shane and Craig and my owner Al. The guys put on a softer tire compared to everyone else," he revealed in victory lane.

Blaney started on the pole with Bill Rose alongside him on the front row. Jim Nier and Johnson's Kistler powered Eagle Chassis gridded in row two with All Star points leader Chad Kemenah and Mark Keegan in row three. Rose drove around Blaney and dove to the bottom groove to lead lap one over Johnson and Blaney. Lap two action saw Johnson drive high around Rose going down the backstretch to take over the lead on lap three. Johnson kept stretching out his advantage with Rose trailing in second and Blaney third.

As the leaders entered lapped traffic on lap 15, Blaney began challenging Rose for second. Lap 16 saw Blaney dive low under Rose coming off turn four to snare second with Kemenah now also on the move. Lap 19 saw Kemenah also get past Rose for third, with Rose now fourth and Jimmy Stinson fifth. Johnson ran excellently Portsmouth's high groove extending his advantage on an open track, but the lapped cars slowed him a bit and allowed Blaney to close.

A lap 30 spin by Jason Courtney set up a 10 lap dash for $10,000. Johnson had two lapped cars between himself and Blaney for the restart, with Kemenah third and Stinson fourth. Johnson pushed out to a big lead again, as Mark Keegan got past Stinson for fourth following the restart. Johnson re-entered lapped traffic with three laps to go, allowing Blaney to move right in on his back bumper. On the backstretch, the pair got side by side with Blaney taking a look for the lead, but Johnson was on the high side of the track and had enough momentum to keep the lead., "I had a chance with about two laps to go," Blaney recalled. "I got under him on the back straightaway. I guess I didn't lay in there the way I should have. You surely don't want to wreck the front two guys racing for the lead. It was my fault for not getting it. But we'll take second."

Blaney was second, just ahead of Kemenah and Keegan ended fourth. Stinson was a consistent fifth, running a six year old engine. Kenny Jacobs started tenth and finished sixth ahead of Todd Kane, up from 12th, Rose, Jan Howard, who started 18th, and 11th starting Greg Wilson.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Tim Hunter, the B&B Products heat went to Jan Howard, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Johnson and the TP Wings heat fell to Ryan Coniam. Kelly Kinser won the United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main. Bill Rose captured the Haulmark Dash and Mark Keegan was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 14.283; 2. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 14.313; 3. Jason Johnson, Harrison 22, 14.357; 4. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 14.359; 5. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 14.489; 6. Dale Blaney, Andrews 72b, 14.601; 7. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, 14.625; 8. Hud Horton, Mossbarger 80, 14.675; 9. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 14.720; 10. Kenny Jacobs, Grove 70, 14.761; 11. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 14.797; 12. Todd Kane, Kane 78, 14.850; 13. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 14.870; 14. Dean Jacobs, Pullins 29, 14.875; 15. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 14.932; 16. Wes Harbour, Harbour 1w, 15.002; 17. Tim Hunter, Hunter 2H, 15.082; 18. Jan Howard, Webb 51, 15.092; 19. Nick Naber, Jarrell 22, 15.096; 20. Ryan Coniam, Coniam 6c, 15.103; 21. Craig McGuire, McGuire 4, 15.145; 22. Jody Keegan, Keegan 60, 15.145; 23. Jason Dukes, JT 3, 15.191; 24. Jason Courtney, Courtney 9c, 15.193; 25. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 15.292; 26. Jeff Shepard, Ashworth 92, 15.308; 27. Shane Stewart, Chilcut 4m, 15.358; 28. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 15.430; 29. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 15.517; 30. Curt Trainer, Trainer 36, 15.584; 31. Bruce Robenalt, Robenalt 98, 15.597; 32. Tom Busch, Busch 4B, 15.615; 33. Randy Fink, Fink 41, 15.742; 34. Chuck Waddell, Waddell 22, 15.935; 35. Eddie Slone, Slone 4x, 16.446.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. Hunter 2. Chaney 3. Smith 4. Rose 5. J. Keegan 6. Kinser 7. McGuire 8. Ruble 9. Fink.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Howard 2. K. Jacobs 3. Blaney 4. Kemenah 5. D. Jacobs 6. J. Keegan 7. Shepard 8. Waddell 9. Trainer.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. Johnson 2. Wilson 3. Reed 4. Dukes 5. Stinson 6. Naber 7. Robenalt 8. Slone 9. Stewart (DNS).

TP Wings Heat (8 laps): 1. Coniam 2. Courtney 3. Kane 4. Nier 5. Harbour 6. Horton 7. Baxter 8. Busch. Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Rose 2. Johnson 3. Blaney 4. Kemenah 5. Chaney 6. M. Keegan.

United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main (10 laps): 1. Kinser 2. McGuire 3. Baxter 4. Horton 5. Shepard 6. Stewart 7. Naber 8. Trainer 9. Busch 10. Robenalt 11. Waddell 12. Slone 13. Fink 14. J. Keegan 15. Ruble.

Haulmark A Main (40 laps): 1. Jason Johnson 2. Dale Blaney 3. Chad Kemenah 4. Mark Keegan 5. Jimmy Stinson 6. Kenny Jacobs 7. Todd Kane 8. Bill Rose 9. Jan Howard 10. Greg Wilson 11. Dean Jacobs 12. Byron Reed 13. Rob Chaney 14. Hud Horton 15. Tim Hunter 16. Danny Smith 17. Jason Dukes 18. Keith Baxter 19. Jason Courtney 20. Jim Nier 21. Ryan Coniam 22. Wes Harbour 23. Craig McGuire 24. Kelly Kinser.

Lap Leaders: Bill Rose 1-2, Jason Johnson 3-40. home.

HammerDown! Publications

Page 1

Page 2