The HammerDown! Poll: Future Superstar

HammerDown! Store

HammerDown! Publications. Now on sale in the HammerDown! Store

Royal Blue HammerDown! Beanies! $14.99 - BUY NOW!

Art Spaulding Photography Portfolio

Drivers Index

Golden State Challenge

WoO 2003 Schedule

WoO 2003 Winners







David Allio captures images at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. PHOTOS!


Yearbook Headlines - ...Yet another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further.

HammerDown! Race Gear

Drivers Index



Haulmark All Star Sprint Results - K-C Raceway - Wed. 7/2/03 By Scott Hall ALMA, OH - Dale Blaney took the lead from Byron Reed on lap 14 and went on to win round four of the 21st annual Ohio Speedweek Wednesday night at K-C Raceway. The event was sanctioned by the Haulmark All Star Circuit of Champions sprint cars and paid the driver of the Fritz Andrews No. 72 $5,000. It was his second Ohio Speedweek win in a row and his second career K-C Speedweek win. It was a clean sweep for Blaney as he won the feature, his heat and the Haulmark Dash.

"I have to thank George Fisher for a real good car tonight. He grew up here and I was glad to get one here for him. Anytime you win an All Star race its' special and to win one in George's backyard that makes it good," Blaney stated. "Byron made a mistake getting off the racetrack and left me an opening and then I got through traffic pretty good. It would have been tough if he hadn't run off the track."

Mark Keegan led the field to the green flag with outside front row mate Reed grabbing the initial race lead. Blaney moved into second on lap three and began chasing Reed. Meanwhile, behind Reed, Blaney (who started fourth), Keegan, Greg Wilson and Chad Kemenah, the battle was on for sixth between Kelly Kinser, Jason Johnson and Rob Chaney. Blaney kept the pressure on Reed as both drivers utilized the high groove of K-C's 3/8 mile. On lap 13 Reed jumped the cushion in turn three, and that miscue was just enough to let Blaney drive by. From that point on, Blaney rode the high groove and stretched his advantage every lap. The only thing that slowed his progress was lapped traffic, but Blaney expertly wove through the backmarkers to win by a full straightaway.

Reed held on for second the rest of the distance with Kemenah a steady third. Kinser and Johnson traded positions several times with Kinser taking fourth for good on the last lap. Johnson was fifth ahead of Keegan and Chaney. Kenny Jacobs started last in the 24 car field and roared through the pack to finish eighth ahead of Ryan Coniam and Jeff Shepard. "I had a pretty decent car, but Dale's might have been a bit better. I definitely gave it to him, but he might have got me anyways," Reed reflected of second. "Last year at Wayne County he gave me one so I repaid the favor this year."

"The car was good but it got tight at the end of the race," Kemenah recalled. "Another top three on the front straightway night in and night out is what we're trying to do. Right now we're looking okay for this All Star deal."

The Crown Battery heat fell to Dean Jacobs (who failed to fire for the A Main), the B&B Products heat went to Shane Stewart, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Blaney and the TP Wings heat fell to Danny Smith. Ryan Coniam won the United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main. Blaney captured the Haulmark Dash and Kemenah was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier. Kenny Jacobs came up light at the scales after qualifying second quick and his time was disallowed. Ed Neumeister hit the turn four wall and flipped violently in time trials. He received a bruised ankle and was through for the evening.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 11.358; 2. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 11.485; 3. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 11.672; 4. Dale Blaney, Andrews 72b, 11.675; 5. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 11.680; 6. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 11.819; 7. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 11.836; 8. Jason Johnson, Harrison 22, 11.917; 9. Ryan Coniam, Coniam 6c, 11.940; 10. Dean Jacobs, Pullins 29, 11.960; 11. Jeff Shepard, Ashworth 92, 11.995; 12. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 12.008; 13. Craig McGuire, McGuire 4x, 12.022; 14. Todd Kane, Kane 78, 12.022; 15. Shane Stewart, Chilcut 4m, 12.053; 16. Butch Schroeder, Brown 99, 12.100; 17. David Harrison, Ludwig 10, 12.108; 18. Tim Hunter, Hunter 2H, 12.120; 19. Jan Howard, Webb 51, 12.125; 20. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 12.140; 21. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 12.140; 22. Wes Harbour, Harbour 1w, 12.235; 23. Jason Courtney, Courtney 9c, 12.272; 24. Brock Mayes, Mayes 11, 12.292; 25. Jody Keegan, Keegan 60, 12.375; 26. Jim Dayton, Dayton 2x, 12.426; 27. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 12.440; 28. Hud Horton, Mossbarger 80, 12.449; 29. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 12.582; 30. Mark Imler, Imler 40, 13.002; 31. Rod Maxwell, Miller 99x, 13.102; 32. Jon Webb, Webb 57, 13.379; 33. Randy Fink, Fink 41, 13.580; 34. Nick Naber, Jarrell 22, 13.586; 35. Spud Gustin, Gustin 4G, 13.603; 36. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, NT; 37. Bruce Robenalt, Robenalt 98, NT; 38. Kenny Jacobs, Grove 70, DQ-light.

Crown Battery Heat (10 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. Hunter 3. Reed 4. Kemenah 5. K. Jacobs 6. Kane 7. Imler 8. Dayton 9. Harbour 10. Naber.

B&B Products Heat (10 laps): 1. Stewart 2. M. Keegan 3. Shepard 4. Chaney 5. Rose 6. Howard 7. Gustin 8. Courtney 9. Maxwell.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (10 laps): 1. Blaney 2. Johnson 3. Schroeder 4. Kinser 5. Baxter 6. Mayes 7. Horton 8. Webb.

TP Wings Heat (10 laps): 1. Smith 2. Harrison 3. McGuire 4. Wilson 5. J. Keegan 6. Fink 7. Ruble 8. Coniam.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Blaney 2. Kemenah 3. Chaney 4. Wilson 5. M. Keegan 6. Reed.

United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main (12 laps): 1. Coniam 2. Kane 3. Harbour 4. Horton 5. Mayes 6. Naber 7. Ruble 8. Imler 9. Courtney 10. Ruble 11. Fink 12. Gustin 13. Webb 14. Maxwell 15. Dayton 16. Howard (DNS).

Haulmark A Main (30 laps): 1. Dale Blaney 2. Byron Reed 3. Chad Kemenah 4. Kelly Kinser 5. Jason Johnson 6. Mark Keegan 7. Rob Chaney 8. Kenny Jacobs 9. Ryan Coniam 10. Jeff Shepard 11. Greg Wilson 12. Butch Schroeder 13. Dave Harrison 14. Danny Smith 15. Craig McGuire 16. Bill Rose 17. Tim Hunter 18. Jody Keegan 19. Keith Baxter 20. Hud Horton 21. Wes Harbour 22. Brock Mayes 23. Shane Stewart 24. Todd Kane. Lap Leaders: Byron Reed 1-13, Dale Blaney 14-30. home.

HammerDown! Publications

Page 1

Page 2