The HammerDown! Poll: Future Superstar

HammerDown! Store

HammerDown! Publications. Now on sale in the HammerDown! Store

Art Spaulding Photography Portfolio

Drivers Index






David Allio captures images at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. PHOTOS!


Yearbook Headlines - ...Yet another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further.

HammerDown! Race Gear

Drivers Index



Haulmark All Star Sprint Results - Lawrenceburg Speedway - Fri. 9/12/03 By Scott Hall LAWRENCEBURG, IN - Experience prevailed over youth Friday night at the Lawrenceburg Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. Veteran Kenny Jacobs prevailed when youthful Jeremy Campbell was leading and ran off the racetrack, handing the feature win to Jacobs in the Pete Grove No. 70 J&J wrenched by Andy Potter. With his seventh place finish in the feature, Chad Kemenah has all but wrapped up the 2003 All Star points title. All Kemenah has to do is sign in and receive his show-up points at the final five All Star events to clinch his second consecutive crown. His lead over Jason Johnson is currently 343 points.

"It's been a down season," Jacobs stated from victory lane. "I can't believe it's been so long since I won a race. I was starting to give up hope. We were going to run second in this race but Jeremy had trouble coming off four and it opened the door for us. I just had to hit my lines just right and stay ahead of him. He had an awful fast racecar."

The win was the 97th of his career for Jacobs and his first since June 8, 2002. Jacobs also revealed he does not have a ride lined up for next season as his deal with current owner Pete Grove ends when the All Star season is complete.

Jacobs started from the pole with Jeff Shepard alongside. Jacobs grabbed the initial lead with Shepard second until Jason Johnson went under Shepard for second on lap three. Campbell, meanwhile, started sixth in his own Maxim and passed Johnson for second on lap seven. Johnson and Campbell traded second behind Jacobs for then next three laps. Jacobs entered lapped traffic, and Johnson, now second, went to the low groove going down the backstretch to grab the lead on lap ten. That left Campbell and Jacobs to battle for second with Campbell finally prevailing for that spot by lap 20.

Todd Kane was really on the move now and was battling Jacobs for third when a caution appeared, nullifying his third place pass. That caution was for the leader Johnson who was in heavy lapped traffic in Al Harrison's No. 22 and ran into turn three too hard and spun, costing him the lead. This put Campbell into the number one spot for the restart over Jacobs, Shepard, Todd Kane, up from 18th starting spot and Curt Trainer.

Campbell led through another restart for Kraig Kinser, who spun out of fifth place. Campbell was fast and jumped out to a nice lead over Jacobs again until he jumped the cushion coming off turn four, allowing Jacobs to take over the lead for the rest of the race. Campbell ended up second with Shepard third.

"I had it but that last restart going over that bump messed me up. I messed up and you can't do anything about it," Campbell recalled of his second place finish.

"I had something go wrong with my engine," Shepard revealed after finishing third. "Something was grinding there at the end. But that wasn't the reason we didn't win. Kenny did a great job and Jeremy got off the racetrack. But we'll take third, it could have been a lot worse."

Greg Wilson stated 11th and ended up fourth ahead of Kane, Kemenah, who started 16th, Trainer, Terry McCarl and Busch.

The Crown Battery heat fell to John Ivy, the B&B Products heat went to Todd Kane, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Kraig Kinser and the TP Wings heat fell to Kemenah. Mark Clark won the Outerwears Pre-filters C Main and Brock Mayes won the United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main. Jeremy Campbell was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier, earning a $250 leather jacket courtesy of Tri-State Outlook.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 10.268; 2. Curt Trainer, Trainer 36, 10.296; 3. Tom Busch, Busch 4B, 10.340; 4. Jason Johnson, Harrison 22, 10.368; 5. Jeff Shepard, Ashworth 92, 10.390; 6. Dale Blaney, Andrews 72b, 10.392; 7. Kenny Jacobs, Grove 70, 10.415; 8. Nick Naber, Jarrell 22, 10.420; 9. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 10.420; 10. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 10.452; 11. Brandon Wimmer, Wimmer 7tw, 10.461; 12. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 10.471; 13. Terry McCarl, McCarl 24, 10.472; 14. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 10.478; 15. Kraig Kinser, Kinser 11k, 10.560; 16. Kyle Sauder, Ferkel 0, 10.576; 17. John Ivy, Carousel 20, 10.583; 18. Erin Crocker, Woodring 16c, 10.616; 19. Brock Mayes, Mayes 11, 10.617; 20. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 10.633; 21. Dean Jacobs, Pullins 29, 10.635; 22. Todd Kane, Kane 78, 10.661; 23. Todd Kelley, Kelley 21K, 10.662; 24. Ryan Coniam, Coniam 6c, 10.662; 25. Spud Gustin, Gustin 4G, 10.668; 26. Chad Blonde, Blonde 5, 10.708; 27. Paul May, May 71m, 10.727; 28. Craig McGuire, McGuire 4, 10.746; 29. David Waltman, Waltman 10w, 10.778; 30. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 10.809; 31. Brad Stevens, G&N 6n, 10.946; 32. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 10.973; 33. Kevin Briscoe, Briscoe 5x, 10.978; 34. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 11.027; 35. Butch Schroeder, Brown 99, 11.062; 36. Bruce Robenalt, Robenalt 98, 11.159; 37. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 11.336; 38. Kyle Stuchell, Stuchell 48s, 11.466; 39. Patrick Haynes, Haynes 5H, 11.471; 40. Mark Clark, Harpe 1H, 11.552; 41. Larry Beck, Beck 98, 11.751; 42. Marc Jessup, Rock Steady 3r, 11.806; 43. Kyle Thomas, Thomas 19, 11.973; 44. Mike Mossi, Mossi 13, 12.427; 45. Kaley Gharst, Gharst 1G, 12.904.

Crown Battery Heat (10 laps): 1. Ivy 2. D. Jacobs 3. McCarl 4. Shepard 5. Campbell 6. Beck 7. Ruble 8. Gustin 9. Waltman 10. Briscoe 11. Rose 12. Gharst (DNS).

B&B Products Heat (10 laps): 1. Kane 2. Chaney 3. Reed 4. Wilson 5. Trainer 6. Baxter 7. Stuchell 8. Blonde 9. Crocker 10. Blaney.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (10 laps): 1. Kr. Kinser 2. K. Jacobs 3. Busch 4. May 5. Stevens 6. Schroeder 7. Haynes 8. Jessup 9. Thomas 10. Mayes 11. Wimmer 12. Kelley.

TP Wings Heat (10 laps): 1. Kemenah 2. Ke. Kinser 3. Coniam 4. Johnson 5. Smith 6. Naber 7. Clark 8. McGuire 9. Robenalt 10. Mossi 11. Sauder.

Outerwears Pre-filters C Main (10 laps): 1. Clark 2. Stuchell 3. Haynes 4. Jessup 5. Gharst 6. Thomas 7. Beck 8. Mossi.

United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main (15 laps): 1. Mayes 2. Naber 3. Briscoe 4. Crocker 5. Wimmer 6. Kelley 7. Rose 8. Schroeder 9. McGuire 10. Clark 11. Jessup 12. Robenalt 13. Gustin 14. Haynes 15. Baxter 16. Gharst 17. Ruble 18. Stuchell 19. Waltman 20. Blaney.

Haulmark A Main (30 laps): 1. Kenny Jacobs 2. Jeremy Campbell 3. Jeff Shepard 4. Greg Wilson 5. Kelly Kinser 6. Todd Kane 7. Chad Kemenah 8. Curt Trainer 9. Terry McCarl 10. Tom Busch 11. John Ivy 12. Byron Reed 13. Erin Crocker 14. Nick Naber 15. Jason Johnson 16. Brock Mayes 17. Kraig Kinser 18. Rob Chaney 19. Paul May 20. Ryan Coniam 21. Dean Jacobs 22. Danny Smith 23. Kevin Briscoe 24. Brad Stevens.

Lap Leaders: Kenny Jacobs 1-9, Jason Johnson 10-21, Jeremy Campbell 22-26, Jacobs 27-30. home.

HammerDown! Publications

Page 1

Page 2