The HammerDown! Poll: Future Superstar

HammerDown! Store

HammerDown! Publications. Now on sale in the HammerDown! Store

Art Spaulding Photography Portfolio

Drivers Index






David Allio captures images at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. PHOTOS!


Yearbook Headlines - ...Yet another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further.

HammerDown! Race Gear

Drivers Index


Haulmark All Star Sprint Results - Mid-Nebraska Speedway - Wed. 8/20/03 By Scott Hall DONIPHAN, NE - Just like last year, it was all Jeff Shepard Wednesday night at Mid-Nebraska Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car Thunder Through the Plains 30 lap feature. The event was co-sanctioned by the NCRA and paid Shepard, the driver of Denny Ashworth's No. 92, $5,000. Shepard, from his outside front row starting spot, led all the way for his fourth win of the year on the All Star tour.

Luckily, the checkered flag was waving as Shepard ran out of fuel on the last lap, then a wreck blocked the track in front of his coasting machine, with Shepard scored as the winner. Shepard grabbed the opening lead from Rookie-of-the-year contender Ryan Coniam and led Coniam, Jason Johnson, Jeremy Campbell and Terry McCarl for the first pair of circuits until Johnson took over second on lap three.

Chad Kemenah grabbed fifth from McCarl during this lap also. Lap seven was unlucky for Johnson as the runnerup was collected in a spin by 16-year-old Chad Humston, making his first 410 sprint car start. This put Coniam back in second behind Shepard for the restart. The man on the move now, in the high groove, was Greg Wilson, who started tenth in the Bob Hampshire No. 63. He picked off McCarl for fifth on lap eight, and pulled past Kemenah for fourth on lap 11.

On lap 11 yellow the came out for Kenny Jacobs stopped on the inside of turn two. He went pit side for work on the left rear of his machine and returned to the rear of the field. Wilson was the man to watch now as Shepard stretched his lead, also on the high side of the speedway. Wilson was third by lap 19, and on lap 22 took over second from Coniam. With five laps remaining, another yellow slowed the pace, putting Wilson within striking range of the leader, who saw his half lap lead erased by the yellow. The restart order was Shepard, Wilson, Kemenah, Brooke Tatnell and Coniam. It was now a five lap shoot out for $5000 for Shepard and Wilson. As the white flag came out, Shepard slowed in turns one and two, out of fuel. Wilson also slowed with a dry tank and loses second. But fortunately for the leaders off of turn four for the checkered Kevin Hulse and Chad Humston get together in front of the leaders and stop in the middle of the track. No yellow flags appeared as the checkered was waving and Shepard was declared the victor! Kemenah was scored second over Tatnell, Wilson, Jeremy Campbell, Coniam, McCarl, Johnson, Dean Jacobs and CJ Johnson.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Daron Clayton, the B&B Products heat went to CJ Johnson and the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Jan Howard as Jason Johnson captured the Haulmark Dash. Chad Kemenah was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 14.821 2- Terry McCarl, McCarl 24, 14.870 3- Jason Johnson, Harrison 22, 14.918 4- Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 15.014 5- Jeff Shepard, Ashworth 92, 15.079 6- Ryan Coniam, Coniam 6c, 15.117 7- Brooke Tatnell, Grandstaff 66, 15.121 8- Bill Rose, Rose 6r, 15.121 9- Dean Jacobs, Pullins 29, 15.126 10- Brian Brown, Parsons 6, 15.143 11- Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 15.165 12- Kenny Jacobs, Grove 70, 15.376 13- Daron Clayton, Clayton 92d, 15.408 14- CJ Johnson, Johnson 45x, 15.394 15- Jan Howard, Webb 51, 15.434 16- Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 15.576 17- Steve King, King 88, 15.687 18- Regan Kitchen, Kitchen 21, 15.838 19- Kevin Hulse, HB Motorsports 15, 16.106 20- Joe Bustillos, Bustillos 37, 16.162 21- Bruce Robenalt, Robenalt 98, 16.235 22- Bruce Rossman, Rossman 3r, 16.711 23- Chad Humston, Humston 23c, NT, light.

Crown Battery Heat #1: 8 laps 1- Daron Clayton 2- Brooke Tatnell 3- Brian Brown 4- Jeremy Campbell 5- Chad Kemenah 6- Kevin Hulse 7- Bruce Rossman 8- Barry Ruble

B&B Oval Track Products Heat #2: 8 laps 1- CJ Johnson 2- Steve King 3- Bill Rose 4- Terry McCarl 5- Jeff Shepard 6- Greg Wilson 7- Chad Humston 8- Joe Bustillos

Engler Machine & Tool Heat #3: 8 laps 1- Jan Howard 2- Dean Jacobs 3- Jason Johnson 4- Kenny Jacobs 5- Ryan Coniam 6- Regan Kitchen 7- Bruce Robenalt

Haulmark Dash: 4 laps 1- Jason Johnson 2- Chad Kemenah 3- Ryan Coniam 4- Greg Wilson 5- Bill Rose 6- Terry McCarl

A-Main: 30 laps 1- JEFF SHEPARD 2-Chad Kemenah 3- Brooke Tatnell 4- Greg Wilson 5- Jeremy Campbell 6- Ryan Coniam 7- Terry McCarl 8- Jason Johnson 9- Dean Jacobs 10- CJ Johnson 11- Daron Clayton 12- Brian Brown 13- Kenny Jacobs 14- Jan Howard 15- Steve King 16- Regan Kitchen 17- Bill Rose 18- Bruce Robenalt 19- Kevin Hulse 20- Chad Humston 21- Joe Bustillos 22- Bruce Rossman 23- Barry Ruble

Lap Leaders: 1-30 Jeff Shepard home.

HammerDown! Publications

Page 1

Page 2