BF's World

Calistoga Speedway

Calistoga Winners List

Drivers Index - Still growing!

HammerDown! Food and Entertainment Guide - a work in progress

HammerDown! Race Gear





Images 1, 2, 3, 4 ,5, 6

Images - People

Injured List

Positivity by Bobby Gerould



Steve-O's Scrapbook

Tracks: Check out our growing directory. We recently added Baylands Raceway Park!

Yearbook Headlines - (This is another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further in the coming days)


Lasoski Extends Points Lead With Terre Haute Victory By Richard Day TERRE HAUTE, IN (June 8) - Danny Lasoski extended his Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series points lead while he and Mark Kinser continued their domination of the Terre Haute Action Track Saturday. "The Dude" stretched his advantage over 16-time series champion Steve Kinser to 23 points while winning his seventh "A" Feature victory of the season. Lasoski and runner-up Mark Kinser have combined to win five of the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' last six races at Terre Haute's legendary -mile oval. "I knew Mark would be tough starting on the pole, but my guys gave me a great car tonight, and we just drove it into (turns) one and two as hard as we could," Lasoski said. "I want to thank Eagle Chassis, Kistler Engines, Hoosier, Massey Motorsports, American Compressed Steel, Jimmy Carr my crew chief, and just everybody that helps us out."

Lasoski and Mark Kinser the second- and third-fastest qualifiers, earned the right to start the "A" Feature on the front row by winning the O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash races. "The Dude" drove NASCAR Winston Cup star Tony Stewart's #20 J.D. Byrider Eagle around Kinser to take the lead as the green flag fell. Steve Kinser, who has won four Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series main events at Terre Haute, passed Danny Wood for fourth place with an inside move between the first two corners early in the second lap. Defending World of Outlaws Gumout Series champion Daryn Pittman passed Wood in the low groove between turns three and four several seconds later. Lasoski, the defending Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series champion, was 20 car-lengths ahead of "Mopar Mark" when he entered lapped traffic five laps into the race.

Steve Kinser steered his #11 Quaker State Maxim into the deepest point in turn three to pass fast-qualifier Joey Saldana for third place the next time around. Steve challenged his second cousin for the runner-up spot between the third and fourth corners one lap later, but was unable to surge ahead. Craig Dollansky, who won the inaugural World of Outlaws Gumout Series championship in 2000, raced around First Heat Race winner Donny Schatz in the high groove between turns one and two for eighth place early in the 19th lap.

Ricky Ferkel, the son of sprint car racing legend and Gumout Series Director of Competition Rick Ferkel, stopped on the front straightaway with a blown engine early in lap 20. Ferkel's top wing collapsed during time trials, keeping him from taking a qualifying lap. Although Schatz kept the engine fired when his family's #15 Parker Stores J&J turned completely around in the first corner as the green flag replaced the yellow, he lost three positions back to 12th place.

The 1997 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year award winner made amends for the miscue, however, passing Stevie Smith and Dollansky within five laps to claim eighth place. Lasoski was 20 car-lengths ahead of his closest pursuers when he caught the back-markers again with four laps remaining. "The Dude" took the checkered flag with 15 car-lengths to spare as Dollansky challenged Schatz. "I never saw anyone get along side me, but I didn't know how our tires were doing," Lasoski said following his second victory at Terre Haute. "So after that caution I just let her eat and it got us to victory lane. Racing on tracks like this is what Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series racing is all about. This track had a top and a bottom, and we had a great track last night, (at Farmer City Raceway, another Track Enterprises facility) too."

Steve Kinser finished third, ahead of Saldana, Pittman, Wood, Tim Shaffer, Schatz, Dollansky and Smith. Randy Hannagan raced into 11th place from outside the seventh row. Saldana set quick time for the sixth time this season, circling the semi-banked, -mile oval in 16.555 seconds, an average speed of 108.728-M.P.H. The Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series will sanction the 97 Country Outlaws Nationals at O'Reilly Auto Parts Motor Speedway in Topeka, KS, Friday and Saturday.

WoO 2002 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Terre Haute Action Track, Terre Haute, IN Saturday, June 8, Feature Program #28

Qualifications: 1. Joey Saldana, Saldana 17, 16.555; 2. Danny Lasoski, Stewart 20, 16.933; 3. Mark Kinser, Kinser 5M, 17.021; 4. Danny Wood, Parsons 6, 17.022; 5. Kraig Kinser, Kinser 11K, 17.248; 6. Daryn Pittman, Sher-Don Motorsports 21, 17.277; 7. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11, 17.298; 8. Tim Shaffer, Roth 83, 17.382; 9. Stevie Smith, Helm 11H, 17.396; 10. Craig Dollansky, Karavan Racing 7, 17.434; 11. Brian Paulus , P and P Motorsports 28, 17.559; 12. Randy Hannagan, TH Racing 1X, 17.591; 13. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 17.597; 14. Brad Furr, Furr 2, 17.659; 15. Blake Feese, Feese 1F, 17.832; 16. Tom Busch, Busch 4B, 17.837; 17. Curt Trainer, Trainer 36, 17.845; 18. Tim Norman, Gaerte 3G, 17.934; 19. Tim Engler, Engler 73, 18.277; 20. Chris Borgman, Borgman 6C, 18.770; 1. Ricky Ferkel, Ferkel 0, no time.

First Heat Race (eight lap): 1. Donny Schatz, 2. Steve Kinser, 3. Joey Saldana, 4. Daryn Pittman, 5. Randy Hannagan, 6. Tim Norman, 7. Tim Engler. (all seven qualified for the "A" Feature)

Second Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Brad Furr, 2. Tim Shaffer, 3. Danny Lasoski, 4. Brian Paulus, 5. Kraig Kinser, 6. Curt Trainer, 7. Chris Borgman. (all seven qualified for the "A" Feature)

Third Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Blake Feese, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Craig Dollansky, 4. Mark Kinser, 5. Tom Busch, 6. Danny Wood, 7. Ricky Ferkel. (all seven qualified for the "A" Feature)

First O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash (five laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Joey Saldana, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Stevie Smith, 5. Donny Schatz, 6. Kraig Kinser, 7. Blake Feese, 8. Brian Paulus. (finish determined the inside starting positions in the first eight rows of the "A" Feature)

Second O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash (five laps): 1. Danny Lasoski, 2. Danny Wood, 3. Tim Shaffer, 4. Daryn Pittman, 5. Craig Dollansky, 6. Brad Furr, 7. Randy Hannagan, 8. Tom Busch. (finish determined the outside starting positions in the first eight rows of the "A" Feature)

A Feature (30 laps): 1. Danny Lasoski [2] ($10,000); 2. Mark Kinser [1] ($5,500); 3. Steve Kinser [5] ($3,200); 4. Joey Saldana [3] ($2,800); 5. Daryn Pittman [8] ($2,500); 6. Danny Wood [4] ($2,300); 7. Tim Shaffer [6] ($2,200); 8. Donny Schatz [9] ($2,100); 9. Craig Dollansky [10] ($2,050); 10. Stevie Smith [7] ($2,000); 11. Randy Hannagan [14] ($1,500); 12. Blake Feese 13] ($1,200); 13. Tim Engler [19] ($1,100); 14. Tim Norman [18] ($1,050); 15. Kraig Kinser [11] ($1,000); 16. Tom Busch [16] ($900); 17. Curt Trainer [17] ($800); 18. Brad Furr [12] ($800); 19. Ricky Ferkel [21] ($800); 20. Brian Paulus [15] ($800); 21. Chris Borgman [20] ($800). Lap leader: Danny Lasoski 1-30

Back to HammerDown! Front Page