BF's World

Calistoga Speedway

Calistoga Winners List

Drivers Index - Still growing!

HammerDown! Food and Entertainment Guide - a work in progress

HammerDown! Race Gear





Images 1, 2, 3, 4 ,5, 6

Images - People

Injured List

Positivity by Bobby Gerould



Steve-O's Scrapbook

Tracks: Check out our growing directory. We recently added Baylands Raceway Park!

Yearbook Headlines - (This is another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further in the coming days)


'The King' Extends Points Lead in Great Plains Shootout By Richard Day GREENWOOD, NE (May 4) - Steve Kinser, Danny Lasoski and Mark Kinser have taken turns leading the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series point standings this season. They finished 1-3 in an "A" Feature for the first time Saturday in the Dodge Great Plains Shootout finale at Nebraska Raceway Park. Steve Kinser used a slide move early in the 16th lap to pass cousin Mark for the lead on his way to the 255th main event victory of his career. "The King of the Outlaws" extended his points lead to 18 points over Lasoski with his fourth main event victory of the year. "We had a pretty good car all night long," Kinser said. "Mark, Danny and I were pretty even there at the beginning, then I think they got a little loose and I found a spot on the bottom getting out of turn four that worked pretty good for me."

Kinser, who finished fourth in Friday's Preliminary Feature, earned the right to start the 30-lap main event inside the second row by following Mark and "The Dude" across the finish line in the O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash. "Mopar Mark" and Lasoski raced wheel-to-wheel down the front straightaway as the green flag fell in the Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series' 16th "A" Feature of the season. Kinser surged ahead between the first and second corners and was eight car-lengths ahead when he entered lapped traffic five laps into the race. Lasoski steered NASCAR Winston Cup star Tony Stewart's #20 J.D. Byrider Eagle to the lowest point in turn one to pass Mark early in the ninth lap, but First Heat Race winner Danny Wood's second-corner spin nullified the move.

Steve Kinser took advantage of the caution, passing "The Dude" for second place with an inside move between the first and second corners as the green flag replaced the yellow. "The King of the Outlaws" closed to within four car-lengths of his cousin in lapped traffic by the 13th lap, then steered his #11 Quaker State Maxim deep in turn one and slid in front of Mark in the second corner three laps later. "I got a good run there coming out of turn four and got beside Mark enough on the front stretch that I could make a move getting into turn one," Kinser said of the winning pass. Jan Howard slowed the fast-paced race early in the 17th lap when he stopped in turn two with a flat left rear tire. Kinser controlled the ensuing restart and was half a straightaway ahead of Mark when he caught the back-markers five laps later.

Joey Saldana raced past defending World of Outlaws Gumout Series champion Daryn Pittman in the low groove between the third and fourth corners with 3 1/3 laps remaining to take over fifth place. Jac Haudenschild's turn-two spin took the leaders out of lapped traffic as the white flag waved, setting up a two-lap dash to the checkered flag. "The King of the Outlaws" raced away from Mark and Lasoski as the race resumed, and claimed the $12,000 first prize with a straightaway to spare. Mark's runner-up run pushed him to within three points of "The Dude" in the point standings. Craig Dollansky finished in fourth place, ahead of Saldana, 14th-starting Tim Shaffer, Brooke Tatnell, Stevie Smith, Pittman and Second Heat Race winner Paul McMahan.

Tatnell, who started inside the ninth row, took the high line through the fourth corner to pass Smith, Pittman and McMahan for seventh place as they headed toward the checkered flag. Pittman paced the qualifying session for the first time this season, circling the semi-banked, 4/10-mile oval in 13.816 seconds, an average speed of 104.227 M.P.H. Engine problems plagued Randy Hannagan during the First Heat Race. His mechanics, led by crew chief Mike Thurman, replaced the engine in TH Racing's #1X K&C Drywall Eagle before the "A" Feature and Hannagan raced into 12th place.

The Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series will run $51,600 events at State Fair Motor Speedway in Sedalia, MO, Friday and at Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, IL, Saturday. WoO 2002 Pennzoil World of Outlaws Series Dodge Great Plains Shootout Nebraska Raceway Park, Greenwood, NE Saturday, May 4, Feature Program #16

Qualifications: 1. Daryn Pittman, Sher-Don Racing 21, 13.816; 2. Craig Dollansky, Karavan Racing 7, 13.834; 3. Stevie Smith, Helm 11H, 13.854; 4. Blake Feese, Feese 1F, 13.859; 5. Danny Wood, Parsons 6, 13.893; 6. Paul McMahan, Johnson U2, 13.902; 7. Brad Furr, Furr 2, 13.916; 8. Randy Hannagan, TH Racing 1X, 13.928; 9. Jac Haudenschild, Forbrook 5, 13.963; 10. Tim Shaffer, Roth 83, 14.003; 11. Donny Schatz, Schatz 15, 14.050; 12. Johnny Herrera, Wilburn 2W, 14.231; 13. Brooke Tatnell, Grandstaff 66, 14.233; 14. Chad Meyer, Julius 1W, 14.702; 15. Jan Howard, Benton/Campbell 11J, 14.710; 16. Dan Oswalt, Oswalt D1, 14.733; 17. Rick Ideus, Ideus 5B, 14.909; 18. Mike Chadd, Chadd 4, 14.931; 19. Rich Bubak, Bubak 9X, 15.014; 20. Kevin Hulse, Mid-Plain Power 15X, 15.633. Finishing 1-4 in Friday's Preliminary Feature qualified Mark Kinser, Danny Lasoski, Joey Saldana and Steve Kinser for the first four starting positions in the O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash.

First Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Danny Wood, 2. Blake Feese, 3. Daryn Pittman, 4. Donny Schatz, 5. Brooke Tatnell, 6. Jan Howard, 7. Rick Ideus, 8. Rich Bubak, 9. Randy Hannagan, 10. Jac Haudenschild. (all 10 qualified for the "A" Feature)

Second Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Paul McMahan, 2. Brad Furr, 3. Craig Dollansky, 4. Tim Shaffer, 5. Stevie Smith, 6. Chad Meyer, 7. Dan Oswalt, 8. Mike Chadd, 9. Kevin Hulse, 10. Johnny Herrera. (all 10 qualified for the "A" Feature)

O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash (five laps): 1. Mark Kinser, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Steve Kinser, 4. Craig Dollansky, 5. Joey Saldana, 6. Blake Feese, 7. Daryn Pittman, 8. Stevie Smith. (finish determined the first eight starting positions in the "A" Feature)

A Feature (30 laps): 1. Steve Kinser [3] ($12,000); 2. Mark Kinser [1] ($6,000); 3. Danny Lasoski [2] ($4,000); 4. Craig Dollansky [4] ($3,500); 5. Joey Saldana [5] ($3,300); 6. Tim Shaffer [14] ($3,100); 7. Brooke Tatnell [17] ($3,000); 8. Stevie Smith [8] ($2,500); 9. Daryn Pittman [7] ($2,100); 10. Paul McMahan [10] ($2,050); 11. Blake Feese [6] ($2,000); 12. Randy Hannagan [12] ($1,600); 13. Donny Schatz [15] ($1,500); 14. Brad Furr [11] ($1,200); 15. Jac Haudenschild [13] ($1,100); 16. Johnny Herrera [16] ($1,000); 17. Danny Wood [9] ($900); 18. Chad Meyer [18] ($800); 19. Jan Howard [19] ($800); 20. Rick Ideus [21] ($800); 21. Rich Bubak [23] ($800); 22. Dan Oswalt [20] ($800); 23. Kevin Hulse [24] ($800); 24. Mike Chadd [22] ($800).

Lap leaders: Mark Kinser 1-15, Steve Kinser 16-30 WoO

Back to HammerDown! Front Page