BF's World

Calistoga Speedway

Calistoga Winners List

Drivers Index - Still growing!

HammerDown! Food and Entertainment Guide - a work in progress

HammerDown! Race Gear





Images 1, 2, 3, 4 ,5, 6

Images - People

Injured List

Positivity by Bobby Gerould



Steve-O's Scrapbook

Tracks: Check out our growing directory. We recently added Baylands Raceway Park!

Yearbook Headlines - (This is another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further in the coming days)


Tim Kaeding Rides High in Bradway Win - By Bobby Gerould 05/11/02 - Chico, CA. - ...Giving Tim Kaeding the pole at Chico Saturday night, may have been irrelevant. The third generation, Kaeding may have won from mid-pack, or deeper given his convincing, rim-riding, 40 lap victory in the Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial race at Silver Dollar Speedway. Kaeding passed his Dad, Brent Kaeding to gain the Golden State Challenge win on the tough quarter-mile. The victory made it a weekend sweep for Tim, who also won the Friday Chico points race. Tim's two-day total with lap money was a handsome, $6,850.

The win for Tim Kaeding came on board the Rick Wright, owned #35. It marked the 3rd straight year that Wright's car has won the Bradway Memorial. Tim shared his post race enthusiasm with his many Chico fans, stating, "This is what it's all about! I hope you loved the show."

At the drop of the Green Flag, third starting Shain Matthews became very loose in turn one, and did a 360 in turn two. With 20 of the 22 A-main cars heading toward the same spot, Golden State Challenge points leader, Peter Murphy, became a victim when he got tangled with another car trying to avoid Matthews. The front end was knocked out of the Morrie Williams #0. Despite heroic efforts from nearly every able body in the pits, Murphy did not make it back out in time for the restart. He did return to race, running laps down to the leaders.

When the main event resumed, Jason Meyers, who started second, was challenging third starting, Brent Kaeding for the lead. "BK" and Meyers went toe to toe for two laps. Meyers snatched the lead from Kaeding at the completion of lap one, only to see Kaeding respond with a move that had the black #69 back in the lead by turn two of lap two. Half a lap later, coming into turn four, Kaeding and Meyers made contact as the two were racing for the point. Meyers suffered the worst of the meeting, suffering front end damage to his Carter Metal Stamping #14. Meyers returned to action, after quick repairs, and roared through the field from last to finish fifth.

The battle between Tim and Brent Kaeding was excellent for several laps, with BK running low, and Tim high. Tim took the lead briefly, However, once Tim moved past Brent, he was gone. Controlling his #35 on the tiptop of the racetrack, Tim stretched his lead to a full straight-away by lap 29. Brent, meanwhile was trying to hold upstart, Craig Stidham at bay. The 2001 Rebel Cup 360 champion, showed his pedigree, by running a smooth 40 laps, at a track he doesn't have many laps at. Stidham is the top contender for Rookie of the Year.

After a red flag for a Murphy flip in turn two on lap 36, the stage was set for Brent Kaeding to launch one more, last gasp, attack on Tim Kaeding. The final five lap shoot-out, was close one time on the back chute, but Tim was too strong. He pulled away, and won comfortably over BK, Stidham, ninth starting Jason Statler, and Meyers.

Brent Kaeding said of his son, Tim, "He was tough. The hammer was down all night. I'm happy for his success, he was tough last year, and this year, he is a top competitor again."

Tom Rolfe Trucking put up $500 for the hard charger of the night and that honor went to Jason York, who started last in the 22 car field and finished in ninth. Quick-time for the program offered a $500 bonus, which was awarded to Garrett Ishii. Ishii turned the 1/4 mile in 13.081 seconds. Heat races were won by Tim Kaeding, Murphy, Chad Riolo, and Steve Ferhman. Flip victims on the night were Bud Walhberg, Murphy, and Tommy Tarlton.

Fast Time: Garrett Ishii: 13.081

Heat 1: Tim Kaeding, Destiny Hays, Kevin Pylant, Ishii, Toni Lutar

Heat 2: Peter Murphy, Jonathan Allard, Jason Statler, Shain Matthews, Danny Ochs

Heat 3: Chad Riolo, Eric Rossi, Tommy Tarlton, Craig Stidham, Colby Weisz

Heat 4: Steve Ferhman, Billy Wallace, Brent Kaeding, Jason Meyers, Brian Coehlo

B Main: Coehlo, Stephen Allard, Lutar, Weisz, Jim Skinner, Jason York, Kyle Schild, Ochs, Chris Scott, Dennis Binstock, Carl Enns, Bob Maiwald, Dave Clarke, Eddy Lewis, C.J. Humphreys

Main event finish: 1. Tim Kaeding, 2. Brent Kaeding, 3. Craig Stidham, 4. Jason Statler, 5. Jason Meyers, 6. Eric Rossi, 7. Stephen Allard, 8. Kevin Pylant, 9. Jason York, 10. Jim Skinner, 11. Billy Wallace, 12. Colby Weisz, 13. Chad Riolo, 14. Jon Allard, 15. Garrett Ishii, 16. Toni Lutar, 17. Shain Matthews, 18. Tommy Tarlton, 19. Peter Murphy, 20. Brian Coelho, 21. Steve Fehrman, 22. Destiney Hays.

Back to HammerDown! Front Page