BF's World

Calistoga Speedway

Calistoga Winners List

Drivers Index - Still growing!

HammerDown! Food and Entertainment Guide - a work in progress

HammerDown! Race Gear





Images 1, 2, 3, 4 ,5, 6

Images - People

Injured List

Positivity by Bobby Gerould



Steve-O's Scrapbook

Tracks: Check out our growing directory. We recently added Baylands Raceway Park!

Yearbook Headlines - (This is another HammerDown! "work-in-progress" that we enjoy sharing with our readers. Please check back often, as each year will be updated further in the coming days)


Sacramento's Henry posts second straight Memorial Day win in Civil War #4 CHICO, CA 5-26-02 - It's become a patriotic tradition at Silver Dollar Speedway each year when the Hoosier Tires Civil War Sprint Car Series competes against the backdrop of the Silver Dollar Fair over Memorial Day weekend. This year it was business as usual on the north state 1/4 mile with the special Sunday event drawing a total of 54 cars and putting a familiar name in victory lane following the 30-lap feature event as Mike Henry of Sacramento posted his second straight Memorial Day weekend win on the Chico clay. Henry started fourth in the 30-lap feature event.

At the waving of the green flag it was pole sitter Rick Williams of Castro Valley grabbing the early lead with track regular Sean Becker in tow as Henry immediately advanced into the third position. As early as the sixth lap the race underwent the caution flag when Destiny Hays of Oroville tangled with Jonathan Allard before stalling on the track surface. The ensuing restart was a tough break for Becker as he spun out of position in the fourth turn which allowed Henry to overtake the bridesmaid position. Green flag racing resumed in the event until the ninth and tenth lap mark when Wheatland's Jeremy Phillips and Elk Grove's Johnny Rodriguez spun in seperate incidents to draw the yellow.

Henry, however, used the caution periods to his advantage as he gained momentum on the restart to close in on Williams for the lead. After gaining speed down the front stretch of the 11th lap restart, Henry pitched his #93 sideways into turns one and two and dove beneath Willliams to challenge for the lead. As Williams slid to the high groove of the track, Henry took the lead he would never relinquish. While Henry began to distance himself from the field, Williams was busy defending the bridesmaid position. On the 15th lap fast qualifier Jayme Barnes of Everett, Washington had moved up from sixth place and overtook Williams for second just five laps before a red flag halted the event when Johnny Rodriguez flipped over in the fourth turn. Rodriguez avoided injury in the incident and the open red flag condition allowed drivers to re-fuel for the remaining 10-laps.

On the restart, Henry maintained his healthy lead while Williams regained the second position from Barnes who was then challenged for the third position by Chad Riolo and Steven Tiner. While Barnes and Riolo fared well in the waning laps, Tiner faded back in the field and ninth place starter Roger Crockett advanced into the top five. At the finish line it was Henry picking up the victory., Williams owned second place at the line followed by Barnes, Riolo, Crockett and Herman Klein.

In preliminary competition Sunday night, Destiny Hays won the B-main event ahead of Ron McBride, Roger Crockett and Jeremy Phillips. This event was paused by a red flag when McBride collided with Mike Monahan in a battle for the transfer position. Monahan went upside down while McBride was able to continue.

Jeff Halleib of Auburn claimed the C-main event followed by Davey Key. Key, of Fresno, started in the third row of the previous D-main event and went on to post the victory before transferring into the C-main. Heat race victories were earned by Jonathan Allard, Marc Mackay, Johnny Rodriguez and David Robinson Jr. In qualifying, Jayme Barnes posted the fast time of 13:665.

The next Hoosier Racing Tires California Sprint Car Civil War Race Series event will be Friday, June 14 when the series returns once again to Silver Dollar Speedway for the fifth round which will be followed one night later on June 15 with round six taking place at Twin Cities Speedway in Marysville. For more information regarding these events and complete results from round four please visit




FAST QUALIFIER:: Jayme Barnes 13:665

HEAT 1: Jonathan Allard; Herman Klein; Mike Henry; Jayme Barnes; Roger Crockett

HEAT 2: Marc Mackay; Kyle Schild; Jim Richardsen; Chad Riolo; Chad Hillier;

HEAT 3: Johnny Rodiguez; Steven Tiner; Sean Becker; Justin Johnson; Billy Wallace

HEAT 4: David Robinson Jr.; Korey Lovell; Rick Williams; Joey Magaruh; Jeremy Phillips.

D-MAIN: Davey Key; Gary Morgan; Eric Hopkins; Patrick Timmons; Greg Sherman.

C-MAIN: Jeff Halleib; Key; Willie Croft; Chris Wilson; Tammy Wright

B-MAIN: Destiny Hays; Ron McBride; Roger Crockett; Jeremy Phillips; Chad Hillier.

A-MAIN: Henry; Williams; Jayme Barnes; Chad Riolo; Roger Crockett; Herman Klein; Korey Lovell; Kyle Schild; Jonathan Allard; Joey Magaruh; Steven Tiner; Jim Richardsen; Marc Mackay; Ron McBride; Johnny Rodriguez.

Back to HammerDown! Front Page