HammerDown! Race Gear

This question is simple. Which driver that is no longer active would you like to see HammerDown! generate more information on? You may cast your vote in the HammerDown! Hero of the Past poll.

Click for Rocklin, California Forecast Time / Temp. in the Rock

HammerDown! Hat

Art Spaulding Photography Portfolio


Drivers Index

We finally finished the 2002 HammerDown! Hundred listing of the 100 biggest sprint car, midget, or champ-dirt car races. Check it out!

Featured Writers

Latest Projects:


The Injured List



Buy a Beanie for $14.99

Buy a Beanie for $14.99

Navy Sweatshirts


2003 Future SuperStar Poll

...Did you buy your Tony Stewart action figure yet? GI Joe, and Ken lookout.

The HammerDown! Form Foldable Blanket / Seat Cushion

Lies, and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them should be required reading.


KNOXVILLE, IOWA (March 10, 2004) - The first official entry for the June 4-5 Pepsi/Mt. Dew Knoxville Midget Championship has arrived this week at the Knoxville Raceway. According to office manager Arleta Voyce, “Andy Mason of Westminster, Colorado, has the distinction of being this year’s first paid entry, and he has chosen to represent the Rocky Mountain Midget Racing Association. Other teams can find the official entry form on our web-site, www.knoxvilleraceway.com.”

Mason will pilot the Roger Mason-owned, Fontana/Chevrolet-powered Ellis chassis midget, which is sponsored by Wagoner Trucking, Western Trucking, Award Classics, and Raynor Garage Doors. In 2002, the midgets returned to the historic Marion County Fairgrounds oval, after an absence of over twenty years, in a show tri-sanctioned by Badger Midget Auto Racing Association (BMARA), Midwest Auto Racing Association (MARA), and North American Midget Auto Racing Series (NAMARS). Last season, Rocky Mountain (RMMRA) and American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) joined the alliance of equal sanctioning partners.

In 2004, all but NAMARS will return to sanction the prestigious national championship event. The Friday night, June 4, program will feature five midget car heats and the fifteen-car, fifteen-lap $1,000-to-win Pepsi/Mt. Dew “King Doodlebug” invitational feature. The first night of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame induction weekend will also feature the twelfth annual $3,000-to-win Hoosier Tire Midwest Masters Classic 360-cubic-inch sprint car show for drivers age fifty and over.

The Saturday night, June 5, program will showcase two midget car consolations, a dash, and the thirty-car, 25-lap $4,000-to-win Pepsi/Mt. Dew Knoxville Midget Championship feature. Chad DeSelle, fourth in the 2003 BMARA point standings, is the event’s defending champion. In addition, a regular show of 410 c.i. sprint car racing will culminate in the $3,000-to-win Kin Folks Shootout on Saturday night.

The King Doodlebug Invitational will start the five Friday night heat winners, the top point-getters from each of the four sanctions in 2003, the top drivers from each of four events (2003 Pepsi/Mt. Dew Knoxville Midget Championship, 2003 Belleville Midget Nationals, 2003 Sun Prairie Fireman Nationals, 2004 Tulsa Chili Bowl Midget Nationals), and the top two drivers from the 2003 National Midget Driver of the Year rankings.

History of the Pepsi/Mt. Dew Knoxville Midget Championship:

2002 - Mike Hess, Kerry Madsen, Don Droud (Jr.), Davey Ray, James Chesson, Cory Kruseman, Craig Carey, Ryan Scott, Brian Gerster, Dave Strickland (Jr.), Steve Knepper, Critter Malone, Ryan Durst, Teddy Beach, Scott Hatton, Quinn McCabe, Steve Paden, John Jones, Greg Lueckert, Chad DeSelle, Marc Dailey, Donnie Lehmann, Aaron Fiscus, Aaron Pierce, John Nervo, A.J. Fike, Ray Bull (Jr.), Jeff Flesher, Brandon Waelti, Keith Rauch.

2003 - Chad DeSelle, Aaron Fiscus, Mike Hess, Aaron Fike, Damion Gardner, Craig Carey, Critter Malone, Nick Lundgreen, Quinn McCabe, Brandon Waelti, Brad Kuhn, Ryan Durst, Kevin Doty, Marc Dailey, Davey Ray, A.J. Fike, Donnie Lehmann, Dave Camfield (Jr.), Sarah McCune, Todd Beach, David Gough, Boyd Calvert, Don Droud (Jr.), Ray Bull (Jr.), Steve Knepper, Rik Forbes, Kerry Madsen, Scott Hatton, Jim Doyle, Brian Gerster.

Hammerdownusa.com main page