HammerDown! Race Gear

This question is simple. Which driver that is no longer active would you like to see HammerDown! generate more information on? You may cast your vote in the HammerDown! Hero of the Past poll.

Click for Rocklin, California Forecast Time / Temp. in the Rock

HammerDown! Hat

Art Spaulding Photography Portfolio


Drivers Index

We finally finished the 2002 HammerDown! Hundred listing of the 100 biggest sprint car, midget, or champ-dirt car races. Check it out!

Featured Writers

Latest Projects:


The Injured List



Buy a Beanie for $14.99

Buy a Beanie for $14.99

Navy Sweatshirts


2003 Future SuperStar Poll

...Did you buy your Tony Stewart action figure yet? GI Joe, and Ken lookout.

The HammerDown! Form Foldable Blanket / Seat Cushion

Lies, and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them should be required reading.





Kaeding and new Beef Packers team garner $3,000 Mini Gold Cup win Friday night by Bill Sullivan, John Padjen Motorsports CHICO - Over the last three years San Jose driver Tim Kaeding has become one of California's hottest open wheel drivers with multiple victories, a Golden State Challenge Championship and a handful of different driver seats and car owners in these recent seasons. Early last week veteran car owner Dennis Roth announced he had signed Kaeding to drive his Beef Packers #83jr for 2004 . So what happens when you team one of the best drivers with one of the best teams on the circuit ? Well, it starts off with an untouchable $3,000 victory in the 18th Annual Mini-Gold Cup at Silver Dollar Speedway.

Before a packed grandstand in attendance for the $51,000 two day event, Kaeding made an impression early, dominating the action throughout the evening with a heat race victory before the familiar face brought his new car, new crew chief and new team to the victory lane he calls home in the 30-lap feature, a race in which he led every lap of. "I hope this relationship with this team goes on forever," said Kaeding. "I couldn't ask for a better team and better place to start things off, this place is home to me. I've known Dennis Roth for a long time and I love being in this car and I think we're going to go places together, I'm already looking forward to tomorrow night."

Kaeding took charge of the 22-car field at the flash of green flag when he muscled into the lead over his younger brother Bud Kaeding of San Jose and Dennis Moore Jr. of Grinnell, Iowa to take a lead he would never relinquish. While the feature event still remained in single digits, Kaeding had already driven to a healthy lead. Meanwhile, Moore and the younger Kaeding rounded out the top five and were soon joined by oldest competitor of the Kaeding clan as Brent Kaeding worked his way towards the front from the seventh position. With Kaeding entering lapped traffic by the 12th circuit, action heated up a few positions back as Randy Hannagan, Brent Kaeding and local star Sean Becker put on a show all battling for the fifth position.

At the 21st lap, it was Kaeding who advanced from the three car battle into the fourth position as powered past both Hannagan and Roger Crockett to move into the fourth position behind Moore and his son Bud. After a restart on the 23rd lap, it was father vs. son as Brent chased Bud down for the show position and moved into third to set his sights on Moore, five laps later the top two positions became that of father and son as Brent overtook Moore on the backstretch to move into the second positions, distantly trailing Tim to the checkered flag. Moore finished in the third position followed by Bud Kaeding, Becker, Crockett, Jason Statler, Hannagan and Wayne Williams who drove his way into the feature all the way from the C-main.

"This new Beef Packers car, let me tell you she was smoking around this place, she was really fast," said Kaeding. "I knew my old man started back there a few spots but I knew he was coming. I just wish Bud could have gotten up here on this front stretch with us but he had a good night too."

After being greeted by his excited crew, Tim received a handshake from Brent who offered his best wishes for his son and new team for the season to come in which both will vie for the "King of California" Golden State Challenge title. "Dennis Moore did a great job letting me get by now I just think he should have let Bud pass him too so I could be on this front stretch with both my kids," Kaeding joked. "Tim did a great job tonight and I really want to thank Dennis Roth and that team for giving him this opportunity, I don't think they'll be sorry at all. Its great to see this many fans here for the first race and maybe tomorrow night we'll be celebrating right here."

Preliminary competition on Friday has four heat races won by Jason Statler, Tim Kaeding, Blake Robertson and Brad Sweet.

The C-main event was claimed by defending Civil War Series champion Mike Henry aboard the #93, powered by a 410 motor and now owned by Dave Angus. Brent Kaeding won the B-main and was fast qualifier for the evening posting a time of 13:048.

The 18th Annual Mini-Gold Cup continues Saturday night in which $6,000 goes to the feature winner. For additional information log onto www.johnpadjenmotorsports.com.

FAST QUALIFIERS Brent Kaeding, Campbell 13:048 2) Randy Hannagan, San Jose 13:103 3) Sean Becker , Oroville13:106

HEAT 1: Jason Statler, San Jose; Colby Wiesz, Colfax; Roger Crockett, Eugene, OR; Dennis Moore Jr., Grinnel, IA; Kevin Pylant, Santa Cruz; Brent Kaeding; Andy Forsberg, Auburn; Shain Matthews, Marysville; Carl Enns, Magalia; Heath Hall; Jon Maiwald, Gilroy.

HEAT 2: Tim Kaeding, San Jose; Billy Wallace, Grass Valley; Jason York, Chico; Randy Hannagan, San Jose; Willie Croft, Sacramento; Dan Ochs, Los Molinos; Matt Shelton, Chico; Jim Skinner, Byron; Travis Rutz, Langley, BC; Pat Harvey, Grass Valley; Ernest McAfee, Redding.

HEAT 3: Brad Sweet, Grass Valley; Dan Menne, Fort Jones; Bud Kaeding, Campbell; Sean Becker, Oroville; Stephen Allard, Chico; Garrett Ishii, Caruthers; John Gray, Chico; Pete Johnson, Princeton; Ivan Wordon, Cotati; Kykle Hirst, Elk Grove; Mike Henry, Sacramento.

HEAT 4: Blake Robertson, Visalia; Robert Stice, Grass Valley; Ricky Fauver, Everett, WA; Stuart Krum, Sacramento; Beau Perkins, Gerber; Bob Maiwald, Gilroy; Craig Stidham, Fresno; Eddie Lewis, Chico; Shawna Wilskey, Burlington, WA; Wayne Williams, Monterey.

C-MAIN: Henry; Williams; Rutz; Hall; Harvey; Enns; McAfee; Worden; Hirst;Joe Maiwald.

B-MAIN: Brent Kaeding; Croft; Williams; Stidham; Allard; Ishii; Pylant; Matthews; Forsberg; Shelton; Skinner; Rutz;Lewis; Ochs; Johnson; Bob Maiwald; Perkins; Henry.

A MAIN: Tim Kaeding; Brent Kaeding; Moore; Bud Kaeding; Becker; Crockett; Statler; Hannagan; Williams; Fauver; Menne; Robertson; Stice; Croft; Ishii; Allard; Krum; Wiesz; Wallace; York; Stidham; Sweet.

Hammerdownusa.com main page

HammerDown! Store