Lasoski wins NST finale at River Cities

By Craig Murphy

   Danny Lasoski was just fast enough to win July 8.

   Lasoski took home the $12,000 top prize by winning Saturday’s 40-lap National Sprint Tour main event at River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks, North Dakota.

   First Lasoski had to hold off repeated challenges from local favorite Mark Dobmeier. Then Lasoski had to hold off a banzai last-lap charge from Tim Kaeding, who won here Friday night.

   As soon as Lasoski pulled into winner’s circle – nearly getting hit by an ambulance in the process – heavy rains came down and turned the ¼-mile dirt track into a mud pit.

   “Leading was probably the wrong thing to do tonight,” Lasoski said. “I was picking the wrong way to go in traffic. But tonight was our night. Tim was real tough, like he has been.”

   While Lasoski led from flag-to-flag, it was no easy drive. Dobmeier kept trying to get by on the low side without success. On lap 31, Kaeding got by Dobmeier and immediately went after Lasoski.

   Kaeding briefly got by Lasoski before a yellow for Brian Paulus on lap 35 negated the pass.

   On the final lap, Lasoski was in heavy traffic entering turn 1. Kaeding saw a brief opening on the bottom and went for it, but was unable to get by.

   “I said, ‘This is going to be a big wreck. I ain’t lifting,’” Lasoski said. “A lapped car spun in front of me, and Tim went low.”
   Kaeding, trying to sweep the weekend, came up just short.

   “It was hard,” Kaeding said. “The lapped traffic, those guys were going every which way but straight. I had (Lasoski) one time, and then the yellow came out.

   “It was either going to make it or go off the race track,” Kaeding added of his last lap move. “Lapped cars slid up at the last second, so I just drove it straight across the track. I’m not going to complain. We didn’t lose too many points.”

   Behind the front two at the end were Jason Solwold, Dobmeier and Shane Stewart.

   “It was a good run,” Dobmeier said. “I felt I was quicker, I just couldn’t get by (Lasoski). My car was faster on the high groove, but you can’t always run there.

   “It was great,” Dobmeier added. “We know we can beat these guys. The car went away in the middle. It came back at the end, but by then it was too late. It was definitely satisfying, but also bittersweet. We knew we had a chance to beat them.”

   Trophy dashes were won by Lasoski and Dean Jacobs, who also won his dash Friday night. Lasoski chose to start the main from inside pole.

   Heat races were won by Solwold, Steve Kinser, Dave Sobczak and Dobmeier. Solwold was the fastest of 36 qualifiers, with a time of 10.018 seconds, his series-leading fourth fast time of the year. The 12-lap B-main was won by Tim Mulvaney.

   The National Sprint Tour travels to Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis. for a July 10 race before visiting Hartford Speedway Park in Hartford, Mich. on July 12.