Crockett Conquers COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek Round Three at Tri-State


Lonnie Wheatley, POCOLA, Okla. (June 6, 2005) – Eugene, Oregon’s Roger Crockett left no room for doubt about his first career O’Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love’s Travel Stops & County Stores feature triumph in Monday night’s 25-lap feature at Tri-State Speedway, as he posted a dominant performance to become the third different winner in as many legs of the 13th Annual COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek.


Crockett gunned into the lead at the drop of the green flag from his front row outside starting position and, despite weathering a pair of cautions, was never challenged en route to collecting the victory and moving atop the ASCS Speedweek point charts aboard Paul Silva’s Wesmar-powered ProBilt Construction/Silva Race Wings No. 57 Eagle.


“We had a great car and when you’re leading you never can really tell how much of a lead you might have so I just kept going as hard as I could lap after lap and it worked out pretty well for us tonight,” Crockett commented from victory lane after the impressive triumph.


Dale Howard led the feature field to the green flag from the pole position, but it was Crockett leading the way into turn one with fourth-starter Jan Howard taking over second as the field exited turn two.


Crockett immediately began stretching his lead over the brothers Howard, with eighth-starter Steven Tiner and current O’Reilly ASCS National Tour point leader Gary Wright moving into the top five by the time the race’s first caution flew with six laps in the books for Cody Branchcomb’s disabled mount in turn four with six laps in the books.


Crockett wasted little time reestablishing his straightaway advantage over the field as the action intensified in his wake.  Crockett’s childhood friend and fellow native Californian Tiner needed just two laps after the caution to move past Jan Howard into second, with Louisiana native Jason Johnson making his way past the Howard siblings for third several laps later.  Wright would slip out of the top five as ninth-starter Danny Wood and 20th-starter Tim Crawley moved toward the front.  Wright later fell back deep in the field with front nose wing woes.


Crockett began navigating through traffic after 15 rounds as Tiner fought off Johnson for the runner-up slot.  The final caution flew with 18 laps complete when Nick Smith came to a halt off turn three, setting up a seven-lap dash to the checkered flag.


With a pair of lapped cars separating Crockett from his contenders on the ensuing restart, Dex Eaton’s lapped mount sputtered coming off turn four, forcing the balance of the field to take evasive action.  Mike Ward and A.G. Rains were caught up in the inevitable frontstretch tangle, with both sent pitside for the night.


Crockett rocketed away from the field on the next restart and raced to the checkered flag with nearly a straightway advantage over Johnson, who slipped past Tiner on the 23rd round to snare the runner-up position.  Tiner matched his career best O’Reilly ASCS National Tour feature finish by claiming the show position, with Wood and Jan Howard rounding out the top five.


Zach Chappell raced from tenth to finish sixth, with Dale Howard crossing the stripe seventh.  After making a last-lap pass in the “B” Main to earn the 20th starting position for the main event, defending COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek champion Crawley had raced all the way up to sixth by the 18th lap only to slip to eighth at the line.  Toby Brown advanced from 15th to ninth, with 14th-starter Jamie Passmore completing the top ten.


Dale Howard, Crockett, Rains and Jan Howard topped heat race action for the 34-car field, with Marshall Skinner winning the 12-lap “B” Main.


Thirteenth Annual COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek action resumes with Round Four at Tulsa Speedway on Tuesday night at 7:00 p.m.




First Heat (8 Laps):  1. Dale Howard, 2. Dex Eaton, 3. Jason Johnson, 4. Toby Brown, 5. Lee Sowell, 6. Jake Martens, 7. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 8. Terry Henry, 9. Tim Crawley.


Second Heat (8 Laps):  1. Roger Crockett, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Darren Stewart, 4. Terry McCarl, 5. Marshall Skinner, 6. Natalie Sather.  DNS: Sean Walden, Dara Morrow, Brian McClelland.


Third Heat (8 Laps):  1. A.G. Rains, 2. Steven Tiner, 3. Danny Wood, 4. Mike Ward, 5. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 6. Justin Sturch, 7. Rafe Essary.  DNS: Derek Cottrell.


Fourth Heat (8 Laps):  1. Jan Howard, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 4. Jamie Passmore, 5. Nick Smith, 6. Cody Branchcomb, 7. Mike Sittzman, Jr., 8. Jimmy Taylor.


B Feature (12 Laps):  1. Marshall Skinner, 2. Nick Smith, 3. Cody Branchcomb, 4. Tim Crawley, 5. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 6. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 7. Justin Sturch, 8. Rafe Essary, 9. Lee Sowell, 10. Natalie Sather, 11. Mike Sittzman, Jr., 12. Terry Henry, 13. Jimmy Taylor, 14. Jake Martens.  DNS: Sean Walden, Dara Morrow, Brian McClelland, Derek Cottrell.


A Feature (30 Laps):  1. Roger Crockett, 2. Jason Johnson, 3. Steven Tiner, 4. Danny Wood, 5. Jan Howard, 6. Zach Chappell, 7. Dale Howard, 8. Tim Crawley, 9. Toby Brown, 10. Jamie Passmore, 11. Tony Bruce, Jr., 12. Darren Stewart, 13. Gary Wright, 14. Jake Martens, 15. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 16. Mike Ward, 17. A.G. Rains, 18. Dex Eaton, 19. Marshall Skinner, 20. Nick Smith, 21. Cody Branchcomb, 22. Terry McCarl.


O’Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love’s Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Ten):  1. Gary Wright 1,396, 2. Darren Stewart 1,376, 3. Jan Howard 1,315, 4. Jake Martens 1,282, 5. Tony Bruce, Jr. 1,261, 6. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 1,207, 7. Toby Brown 1,197, 8. A.G. Rains 1,147, 9. Lee Sowell 931, 10. Jimmy Taylor 880.


13th Annual COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek Points (Top Ten – Through Round Three of Seven Events):  1. Roger Crockett 432, 2. Darren Stewart 430, 3. Tim Crawley 418, 4. Gary Wright 414, 5. Jan Howard 412, 6. Steven Tiner 406, 7. Dale Howard 390, 8. Tony Bruce, Jr. 386, 9. Toby Brown 380, 10. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 366.