8/4/05 By Scott Hall ROSSBURG, OH - Randy Hannagan made it two wins in a row Thursday night at Eldora Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap A main feature. The event kicked off the Mopar Thunder weekend at Eldora on "A Salute to Kenny Jacobs" night. The win was also Hannagan's third career Eldora All Star win. A late race caution saved the victory for the Pittsboro, Indiana driver as Chad Kemenah had passed him for the lead, but a caution nullified the pass. "It was bad for him but good for me," Hannagan said of the late race caution. "I didn't think we had anything for him after he got by since my tires were blistered pretty bad. I just tried to run where the moisture was and take care of my tires. I was waiting for him to go by again and he never did."

With Butch Schroeder and Ryan Coniam leading the field to the green flag, Schroeder took the lead in Dave Jessup's No. 7k. Schroeder led Coniam and Todd Kane until fourth starter Hannagan took third from Kane on lap six. Hannagan kept the pressure on Coniam and took over second on lap 11 as the leaders fought through heavy lapped traffic. Schroeder maintained his lead while Hannagan slowly reeled him in. When lap 13 was complete, Hannagan dove low under Schroeder to take the lead in turns one and two as Schroeder tried to keep him in sight. Kemenah, who started sixth, followed Hannagan past Schroeder and began moving in on the leader. As the top pair sliced through heavy lapped traffic, Kemenah inched ever closer to Hannagan.

A lap 22 caution put Kemenah right on Hannagan's back bumper, but Hannagan got a good restart to keep his lead. But Kemenah fought back, and made a pass on lap 24, but Cody Geldart spun, bringing out a yellow and putting Kemenah back behind Hannagan for the restart. Kemenah made a low groove move on lap 27, but Hannagan slammed the door on Kemenah to maintain the lead and win the race. Dale Blaney made a charge through the pack to finish third after starting 12th, followed by Rob Chaney and Kane.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Brock Mayes, the B&B Products heat went to Jeremy Campbell and the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Kevin Huntley. Lucas Wolfe won the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main and Randy Hannagan captured the Haulmark Dash. Todd Kane was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier. In a pre-race ceremony, Kenny Jacobs was honored by Eldora Speedway and his car owner from last season, Sandy Kline. Jacobs is retiring after this season after racing for 33 years and is the All Star all-time race winner with 97 wins. Jacobs then signed autographs for the fans for over 45 minutes.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Todd Kane, Kane 78, 13.400; 2. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 13.441; 3. Randy Hannagan, THR 1x, 13.665; 4. Cody Geldart, Geldart 6g, 13.666; 5. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 13.713; 6. Ryan Coniam, Bancon 46, 13.763; 7. Butch Schroeder, Jessup 7K, 13.770; 8. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 13.792; 9. Tim Kaeding, Roth 83, 13.813; 10. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 13.832; 11. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, 13.845; 12. Dale Blaney, Fisher 2x, 13.855; 13. Brock Mayes, Brock Mtspts. 11B, 13.908; 14. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 13.921; 15. Mike Brecht, Hammons m20, 13.959; 16. Luke Hall, Hall 34, 13.974; 17. Kenny Jacobs, Hunter 2, 14.002; 18. Kevin Huntley, Grove 70, 14.050; 19. Lucas Wolfe, Allebach 5w, 14.082; 20. Dean Jacobs, Pullins 29, 14.122; 21. Bob Bennett, Acme 3, 14.128; 22. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 14.234; 23. Paul May, May 71m, 14.241; 24. Ricky Ferkel, Ferkel 0, 14.283; 25. Ron Blair, RB 35, 14.445; 26. Dennis Ward, Ward 21w, 15.316; 27. Mark Hery, Hery 40, 16.420; 28. Greg Wilson, Elden 22, no time.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. Mayes 2. Schroeder 3. Kane 4. Chaney 5. Hall 6. Geldart 7. Wolfe 8. Ruble 9. Wilson.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Campbell 2. K. Jacobs 3. Kemenah 4. Smith 5. Stinson 6. D. Jacobs 7. May 8. Neumeister 9. Ward.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. Huntley 2. Blaney 3. Hannagan 4. Kaeding 5. Coniam 6. Brecht 7. Bennett 8. Ferkel 9. Hery.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Hannagan 2. Kane 3. Geldart 4. Kemenah 5. Chaney 6. Smith.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (12 laps): 1. Wolfe 2. Neumeister 3. May 4. Bennett 5. Ruble 6. Ferkel 7. Hery 8. Ward 9. Wilson.

A Main (30 laps): 1. Randy Hannagan 2. Chad Kemenah 3. Dale Blaney 4. Rob Chaney 5. Todd Kane 6. Danny Smith 7. Butch Schroeder 8. Kenny Jacobs 9. Dean Jacobs 10. Ryan Coniam 11. Jeremy Campbell 12. Lucas Wolfe 13. Brock Mayes 14. Cody Geldart 15. Luke Hall 16. Mike Brecht 17. Paul May 18. Jimmy Stinson 19. Kevin Huntley 20. Barry Ruble 21. Ed Neumeister 22. Tim Kaeding 23. Bob Bennett 24. Ricky Ferkel.

Lap Leaders: Butch Schroeder 1-13, Randy Hannagan 14-30.


Back of tee shirt