BARBERVILLE, FL - Kraig Kinser captured his first career Haulmark All Star sprint car win Thursday night at Volusia Speedway Park. He had to hold off his father Steve Kinser at the checkered flag in an exciting finish to the 25 lap A main. Although run in cold and windy conditions, the half mile track held up well with two groove racing throughout the feature.

After starting eighth, the Indiana youngster used the high groove to gain the lead from pole starter Jason Solwold on lap three, maintaining his position over Solwold, Jeff Shepard, S. Kinser and Clint Garner following a lap four Jeremy Campbell spin. Lance Dewease brought out another yellow a circuit later when he got into the inside wall in turn one. The resulting front end damage ended his night.

Shane Stewart, who started 13th, was also on the move, up to sixth on lap nine as two grooves were developing as the leaders cut through lapped traffic. S. Kinser got past Shepard then drove under Solwold for second with a low move on lap 13. By lap 17 the lead son and father duo of the Kinser's had cleared lapped traffic, with Kraig still able to lead his father. Shepard began pressuring Solwold for third, and Shepard hit the R19 car, breaking his front nose wing, but the Maryland driver was able to continue and not lose any positions.

Coming down to the checkered flag at the finish line S. Kinser tried to dive under his son and slide job his way to victory lane, but the youngster had enough horsepower to maintain the lead and hold him off for the win by running the speedway's high groove. With three laps to go, Stewart got by Kemenah for fifth, making the final top five rundown K. Kinser, S. Kinser, Solwold and Stewart. Kemenah was sixth ahead of Tim Kaeding, Tim Shaffer, Danny Smith and last starter Dean Jacobs.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Tim Kaeding, the B&B Products heat went to Greg Wilson, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Dale Blaney and the TP Wings heat fell to Mark Smith. Phil Gressman won the Outerwears Pre-filters C Main and lance Dewease captured the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main. Kemenah was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 13.83; 2. Erin Crocker, Woodring 16, 13.92; 3. Kraig Kinser, Kinser11k, 14.00; 4. Randy Hannagan, Titan 8, 14.02; 5. Tim Kaeding, Roth 83, 14.11; 6. Steve Kinser, Kinser 11,14.11; 7. Jeff Shepard, Apple 12, 14.11; 8. Clint Garner, Garner 40, 14.13; 9. Jason Solwold, Carnahan R19, 14.13; 10. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 14.15; 11. Tim Shaffer, Parsons 6x, 14.15; 12. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 14.16; 13. Joey Saldana, Woodward 2v, 14.17; 14. Daryn Pittman, Titan 21, 14.17; 15. Sammy Swindell, Forbrook 5, 14.17; 16. Shane Stewart, Rudeen 26, 14.19; 17. Kevin Swindell, Swindell 1k, 14.21; 18. Lance Dewease, Postupak 25, 14.21; 19. Fred Rahmer, Harz 88h, 14.21; 20. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 14.23; 21. Lucas Wolfe, Allebach 5w, 14.25; 22. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 14.27; 23. Dale Blaney, Andrews 72, 14.28; 24. Mark Smith, Zemco 1, 14.29; 25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., SBS 40r, 14.29; 26. Trevor Lewis, Stauffer 2, 14.29; 27. Jack Pillon, Pillon 18jp, 14.30; 28. Jason Johnson, Kline 22, 14.33; 29. Greg Hodnett, Hamilton 77, 14.33; 30. Mike Brecht, Hammonds 20b, 14.35; 31. Donnie Schatz, Schatz 15, 14.35; 32. Cody Geldart, Geldart 6g, 14.37; 33. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22h, 14.38; 34. Mark Kinser, Wright 35w, 14.39; 35. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 14.42; 36. Ron Blair, RB 35, 14.44; 37. Natalie Sather, Sather 94s, 14.44; 38. Brock Mayes, Brock 11b, 14.48; 39. Mike Lutz, Chiappelli 98, 14.50; 40. Tony Bruce Jr., Bruce 18, 14.50; 41. Phil Gressman, Grove 70, 14.50; 42. Justin Collett, Collett 69, 14.52; 43. Paul May, May 71m, 14.54; 44. Dean Jacobs, Webb 51, 14.57; 45. Bob Bennett, Acme 3, 14.58; 46. Tom Busch, Busch 4b, 14.63; 47. Mike Erdley, Lisi 11e, 14.73; 48. Cameron Dodson, Dodson 37, 14.73; 49. Cody Branchcomb, Branchcomb 94, 14.82; 50. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 14.93; 51. Spud Gustin, Gustin 4g, 15.52; 52. Randy Johnson, Johnson 72j, 16.48.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1-Tim Kaeding 2-Jason Solwold 3-Chad Kemenah 4-Lucas Wolfe 5-Greg Hodnett 6-Cody Branchcomb 7-Phil Gressman 8-Bob Bennett 9-Natalie Sather 10-Ricky Stenhouse Jr., (dnf) 11-Jac Haudenschild (dnf)12-Joey Saldana (dnf) 13-Kevin Swindell (dnf).

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1-Greg Wilson 2-Daryn Pittman 3-Danny Smith 4-Steve Kinser 5-Mark Kinser 6-Justin Collett 7-Brock Mayes 8-Tom Busch 9-Mike Brecht 10-Trevor Lewis 11-Barry Ruble 12-Erin Crocker 13-Lance Dewease.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1-Dale Blaney 2-Fred Rahmer 3-Jeff Shepard 4-Tim Shaffer 5-Donnie Schatz 6-Sammy Swindell 7-Paul May 8-Kraig Kinser 9-Mike Lutz 10-Mike Erdley 11-Bill Rose 12-Jack Pillon 13-Spud Gustin.

TP Wings Heat (8 laps): 1-Mark Smith 2-Shane Stewart 3-Jeremy Campbell 4-Dean Jacobs 5-Clint Garner 6-Jason Johnson 7-Cameron Dodson 8-Randy Hannagan 9-Cody Geldart 10-Ron Blair 11-Rob Chaney 12-Randy Johnson.

Outerwears C main 8 laps top 4 transfer to B: 1-Phil Gressman 2-Ron Blair 3-Brock Mayes 4-Mike Lutz 5-Justin Collett 6-Cameron Dodson 7-Bob Bennett 8-Mike Erdley 9-Cod Branchcomb 10-Barry Ruble 11-Spud Gustin 12-Natalie Sather 13-Randy Johnson 14-Tony Bruce Jr. (dnf) 15-Tom Busch (dnf) 16-Paul May (dnf)

UNO B Main 12 laps top 4 transfer to A: 1-Lance Dewease 2-Erin Crocker 3-Kevin Swindell 4-Kraig Kinser 5-Jason Johnson 6-Jac Haudenschild 7-Cody Geldart 8-Ricky Stenhouse 9-Mike Lutz 10-Rob Chaney 11-Brock Mayes 12-Phil Gressman 13-Bill Rose 14-Mike Brecht 15-Ron Blair 16-Trevor Lewis 17-Jack Pillon 18-Joey Saldana 19-Sammy Swindell 20-Randy Hannagan Haulmark

A Main: 1-Kraig Kinser 2-Steve Kinser 3-Jason Solwold 4- Jeff Shepard 5- Shane Stewart 6- Chad Kemenah 7- Tim Kaeding 8- Tim Shaffer 9-Danny Smith 10-Dean Jacobs 11-Donny Schatz 12-Kevin Swindell 13-Daryn Pittman 14-Fred Rahmer 15-Mark Kinser 16-Mark Smith 17-Greg Hodnett 18-Erin Crocker 19-Clint Garner 20-Greg Wilson 21-Dale Blaney 22-Lucas Wolfe 23-Jeremy Campbell 24-Lance Dewease

Lap Leaders: Jason Sowold 1-2, Kraig Kinser 3-25.


Racer's Racing Series