JUNE 1, 2004





             Three of Midget auto racing's top drivers and the winningest

National car owner of all time are the latest slated for induction into the

National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame. Induction ceremonies are

scheduled August 29 at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wisc., home of

the Hall of Fame exhibit. A noon luncheon will be followed by the

inductions and that night's "Hall of Fame" 25-lap Midget Classic.


             Hank Butcher, Johnny Coy and Roy Sherman are the drivers to be

honored and Steve Lewis is the car owner.


             Butcher, who hailed from San Leandro, Calif. during his racing

career, ranks third in terms of career victories in Bay Cities Racing

Association Midget competition with 79, trailing only Hall of Fame members

Johnny Baldwin and Fred Agabashian. He also recorded a dozen USAC feature

wins in a career that spanned 32 years.


             Coy, of Freeport, N.Y., won the 1958 NASCAR Midget driving

title. He won 14 of the 25 races which comprised he 1958 NASCAR Midget

racing schedule, then won the 1959 track title at Islip Speedway on Long

Island. Nine years later he won the American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC)

Midget crown and repeated as the ARDC Champion the next year. Two years

later he returned to win the title and again repeated in 1972. In 1962

Johnny passed a driver test for the Indianapolis 500 but the car failed to

complete a qualifying run. Johnny's boys, Joey and Johnny, Jr. both race

and Joey owns championships in ARDC and the Northeast Midget Association



             Lewis, of Laguna Beach, Calif., shattered USAC's all-time

National feature victory record as a car owner and had 113 at the end of

the 2003 season. He won nine USAC Midget car owner championships in 11

years and scored feature victories with some of the greatest drivers in the

history of the sport. An astute businessman, Steve also created the

extremely successful Performance Racing Industry trade show, held each year

at the Indiana Convention Center in downtown Indianapolis, showcasing the

industry, and also publishes the widely distributed Performance Racing

Industry magazine. Among Lewis' drivers are USAC Triple Crown Champions

Dave Darland, Tony Stewart and J.J. Yeley, plus the following drivers, all

of whom own USAC driving titles: Mike Bliss, Jay Drake, Chuck Gurney, Tracy

Hines, Kenny Irwin, Jr., Kasey Kahne, Jason Leffler, Michael Lewis, Kevin

Olson, Stevie Reeves and Jimmy Sills as well as Stan Fox, who recorded the

first dozen National victories for the Lewis team.


             Sherman, of St. Louis, Mo., was America's first AAA National

Midget Racing Champion in 1948. Two years earlier he won the Canadian

Midget title. He attempted to qualify for the 1951 and 1952 Indianapolis

500s, then served as chief mechanic for Johnny Thomson and the D-A

Lubricant Racing Team from 1957-1960. He helped develop D-A Speed Sport Oil

and in 1961 went to work for Pratt & Whitney in its aerospace program. In

1968 he died of a heart attack at the age of 59.