2018 All HammerDown! Team – December 31, 2018. Rocklin, CA.HammerDownUSA.com, today, named the 2018 All-HammerDown! Team. Brad Sweet, the Champion of the Racer’s Racing Series, heads the list of the 40 driver “team”.
The All-HammerDown! Team includes drivers that finished in the top 40 in HammerDownUSA.com’s Racers’ Racing Series point standings. Points are awarded for a 60-race schedule of big-race events. You have to finish in the top eleven positions in an A-Feature to score points. This year there were 177 drivers that earned points but only the top 40 receive All-HammerDown! status.

Three drivers continued their streak of making the All-HammerDown! Team in each of the 16 years since the honor was created in 2003. The legendary trio is: Daryn Pittman, Joey Saldana, and Donny Schatz.  Eight drivers made the All-HammerDown! team for the first time in their careers: Jacob Allen, Spencer Bayston, Dave Blaney, Chad Boat, Parker Price-Miller, Freddie Rahmer, Gio Scelzi, and Trey Starks. The age range of the 40 driver team goes from Scelzi at age 17 to Blaney at age 56.

“To me, the All-HammerDown! Team is simply a way to ‘tip my cap’ to a group of drivers that excelled this season,” said Bobby Gerould, editor of HammerDownUSA.com. “We tinkered with the points system this time around, making it even tougher to score points. The results delivered a diverse group of 40 drivers that, I think, any race fan would love to watch do their thing.”  Gerould continued, “From the beginning, in 2003, when we started this deal, it was meant to highlight the highest paying races and at the same time encourage drivers to challenge themselves by traveling to different tracks across the country.”

The 2018 All-HammerDown! Team is dedicated to the memory of two GREAT racers, Greg Hodnett and Jason Johnson. Hodnett was an eleven-time member of the All-HammerDown! Team. Johnson made it a dozen times.

The 16th annual All-HammerDown! Team, in alphabetical order:


Sources: , Jim Allen, AllStarSprint.com, Tyler Altmeyer, The Fresno Bee, Anthony Corini, Troy Hennig, Bryan Householder, Inside Line Promotions, Lance Jennings, Dick Jordan, KevinThomasJr.com, Richie Murray, Petersen Media, SpeedSport.com, SprintSource.com, Gary Thomas, TriStateSpeedway.com, USACRacing.com, Lonnie Wheatley, WorldofOutlaws.com, YorkDispatch.com.