8/15/05 By

Scott Hall


    MAYETTA, KS – It was youth over experience Monday night at Thunder Hill

Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap A main feature as

17-year-old Cody Geldart led all the way for his first career All Star win.

Aboard the Geldart Transportation, Oshweken Speedway, Kear’s Speed Shop

Hampshire powered Maxim, the Mossley, Ontario, Canada resident defeated

Californian Jonathan Allard for the triumph.

   “This was awesome, I love this track…the track is awesome… I love the

banking… the car was fast all night,” an excited Geldart recited in victory

lane. “I knew that we lost some water but the engine temperature didn’t

change so I kept going. I wasn’t going to stop for anything,” he concluded.

He became the 17th feature winner of the year out of 24 All Star events.

   For the start of the main it was All Star Rookie-of-the-Year points

leader Geldart on the pole with Greg Wilson alongside with Jeremy Campbell

and Allard in row two. Chad Kemenah and Randy Hannagan comprised row three

and once the green flew, Hannagan and Kemenah tangled in turn one and

flipped with Brock Mayes ending up on his side in the melee. Kemenah was

eliminated from the event by the accident. Mayes was able to return for the

original restart and Hannagan returned to the track following another yellow

before a lap was in the books. The next attempt for a start saw Mayes

hitting the turn three fence for another caution. Once the event finally

started, Geldart jumped into the immediate lead, followed by Wilson’s Elden

Racing No. 22 and Allard in the Williams No. 0. Geldart was just getting

into lapped traffic on lap six when another red flew for the No. 20 of Ron

Leifholz who hit the turn four fence. Leifholz was taken to a local hospital

with back pains.

   For the restart it was Geldart leading Wilson, Allard, Campbell, Dale

Blaney, Danny Smith and Paul May. Geldart ran the top groove of the 3/8 mile

high banked oval and pulled away again on the restart as Allard and Campbell

battled for third behind Wilson. By the halfway point Geldart still leading

running around the top groove with a straightaway lead on Wilson as Hannagan

moved into the top ten after restarting last.

   Lap 18 saw Hannagan get by Bob Bennett for seventh as the pack up front

maintained their positions. With eight laps to go, all that changed as

Allard snuck by Wilson then Wilson spun across the front stretch and ended

up facing the wrong way with front end damage. The rest of the field avoided

his machine, but he was done for the evening.

   While the race was being restarted, Geldart’s machine was noted to be

losing water on the front stretch. Although it was in the back of the

leader’s mind, he kept racing. With six laps to go, action heated up with

Smith moving to fourth passing Blaney and a circuit later May also got by

Blaney for fifth and the amazing Hannagan got by for sixth. The final

caution flew on lap 28 for Blaney’s flat right rear tire, which put him out

of a top five finish. This set up a green, white, checkered sequence for the

finish and Geldart won easily. He ran the top groove the entire time,

dropping low down only to get by lapped cars. Allard rode home second,

followed by Campbell, Smith, May, Hannagan, Blaney and Bennett, who recorded

his best finish of the year.

   Blaney’s finish and the DNF of series’ points leader Chad Kemenah enabled

Blaney to pull within 61 points of the lead in the battle for the $50,000

All Star points championship.

   The Crown Battery heat fell to Sam Hafertepe, Jr., the B&B Products heat

went to Brock Mayes and the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Mike

Leifholz. Hannagan was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier with a new track

record of 12.340 seconds and captured the Haulmark Dash

   Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Randy Hannagan, 12.34 (NTR); 2. Chad

Kemenah, 12.41; 3. Jonathan Allard, 12.50; 4. Jeremy Campbell, 12.50; 5.

Greg Wilson, 12.53; 6. Cody Geldart, 12.53; 7. Danny Smith, 12.59; 8. Brock

Mayes, 12.63; 9. Jim Cameron, 12.71; 10. Dale Blaney, 12.75; 11. Paul May,

12.84; 12. Chad Meinholdt, 12.97; 13. Sam Hafertepe Jr., 13.00; 14. Bob

Bennett, 13.03; 15. Mike Leifholz, 13.18; 16. Ron Leifholz, 13.32; 17. Chris

Morgan, 13.72; 18. Tim Newman, 14.37; 19. Kelly Kneisler, 14.53.

   Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1-Sam Hafertepe Jr. 2-Danny Smith 3-Dale

Blaney 4-Jeremy Campbell 5-Randy Hannagan 6-Ron Leifholz 7-Kelly Kneisler

   B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1-Brock Mayes 2-Chad Kemenah 3-Greg Wilson

4-Bob Bennett 5-Paul May 6-Chris Morgan

   Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1-Mike Leifholz 2-Cody Geldart 3-Jim

Cameron 4-Chad Meinholdt 5-Jonathan Allard 6-Tim Newman

   Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Hannagan 2. Kemenah 3. Wilson 4. Campbell 5.

Smith 6. Geldart.

   A Main (30 laps): 1-Cody Geldart 2-Jonathan Allard 3-Jeremy Campbell

4-Danny Smith

5-Paul May 6-Randy Hannagan 7-Dale Blaney 8-Bob Bennett 9-Sam Hafertepe Jr.

10-Tim Newman 11-Jim Cameron 12-Greg Wilson 13-Kelly Kneisler 14-Chris

Morgan 15-Mike Leifholz 16-Ron Leifholz 17-Chad Kemenah 18-Brock Mayes

19-Chad Meinholdt.

   Lap Leaders: Cody Geldart 1-30