Haulmark All Star Sprint Ohio Speedweek Results - Eldora Speedway - Sat. 6/26/04 By Scott Hall


      ROSSBURG, OH  -  It's hard to believe, but Jac Haudenschild had never won an Ohio Speedweek feature until Saturday night at Eldora Speedway. Haudenschild ran down early leader Tim Kaeding and led the final 17 laps in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap Ohio Speedweek feature. For the opening race of the 22nd annual Speedweek, Haudenschild's Jamie Miller owned Ham Signs Maxim team pocketed $5,000.

   "Tim Kaeding had me worried," Haudenschild revealed. "He was running

really good. I've raced with the Kaeding's all my life and the boys run as good as the old man does," Haud added.

   With a pair of Tim's, Hunter and Kaeding, leading the pack to the green flag, Kaeding jumped out to an impressive early lead. Fourth starting Dale Blaney ran second behind Kaeding until he brought out the first caution when he slowed on the frontstretch on lap seven. Blaney was forced to pit for repairs and at the same time Greg Wilson, who spun to a stop, went pitside.

   Kaeding jumped out to another nice lead when the green reappeared,

followed by third starter Haudenschild, Chad Kemenah and Butch Schroeder. As the laps ticked off, Haudenschild began reeling in Kaeding as they entered lapped traffic on lap 14. Haudenschild closed to two car lengths. The leaders were nose to tail on lap 16, and Haudenschild tried a slide job in turn three, but Kaeding had enough momentum to repel the charge. The next lap Haudenschild dove low in turn three for a classic Eldora slide job and emerged with the lead. But a lap later the red flew when Ron Blair tagged the turn two concrete and flipped.

   Haudenschild led for the restart, with Kaeding still second and third was a tussle between Kemenah and Butch Schroeder. Schroeder eventually dropped out with mechanical problems, leaving Kemenah with third all to himself. A pair of flats slowed the action as seventh place Rob Chaney and top ten runner Phil Gressman both stopped the action and were able to replace tires for the restarts. The final seven laps went all green, with Haudenschild pushing out to a two-thirds of a straightaway win over Kaeding.

   "It's the first time I've seen this place in my life," Kaeding said after finishing second in the Dennis Roth Beef Packers 83 Jr. "I've played it a hundred times on the sprint car game but it's a lot different in person. Jac rules this place. I was way afraid to get as close to the wall as he did."

   Kemenah was third, followed by Randy Hannagan, who came all the way from 18th starting spot. Dean Jacobs, after starting 13th, was fourth ahead of Chaney, Danny Smith, last starting Nick Naber, Jimmy Stinson and Missouri's Jesse Hockett.

   The Crown Battery heat fell to Stinson, the B&B Products heat went to Greg Wilson, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Jeremy Campbell and the TP Wings heat fell to Darren Long in a 360 cubic inch powered machine. Dean Jacobs won the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main while Jac Haudenschild captured the Haulmark Dash and Kemenah was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier. Jack Sodeman Jr. won the Hoserville Ohio $100 time trial award.

   Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 13.331; 2. Butch Schroeder, Brown 99, 13.373; 3. Dale Blaney, Andrews 72, 13.485; 4. Jac Haudenschild, Miller 6m, 13.556 5. Tim Kaeding, Roth 83jr, 13.580; 6. Tim Hunter, Hunter 2, 13.848; 7. Jesse Hockett, VKCC 75, 13.879; 8. Ryan Coniam, Grove 70, 13.959; 9. Phil Gressman, Robenalt 98, 14.005; 10. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 14.050; 11. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 14.064; 12. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 14.097; 13. Dean Jacobs, DJR 27, 14.152; 14. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 14.215; 15. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 14.246; 16. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 14.296; 17. Brock Mayes, Mayes 11B, 14.302; 18. Jack Sodeman, Jr., S&S 23Jr, 14.345; 19. Randy Hannagan, THR 1x, 14.352; 20. Jon Agan, Agan 4J, 14.357; 21. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84k, 14.428; 22. Ron Blair, RB 35, 14.572;  23. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 14.624; 24. Darren Long, Long 7, 14.703; 25. Nick Naber, Jarrell 22, 14.747; 26. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister

11n, 14.803; 27. Paul May, May 71m, 15.091; 28. Ryan Myers, Garrett 56r, 15.114; 29. Spud Gustin, Gustin 4G, 15.503; 30. Eddie Lynch, Lynch 29, 16.003; 31. Shawn Applegate, Applegate 07, 17.621.

   Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. Stinson 2. Kaeding 3. Gressman 4. Kemenah 5. Naber 6. Jacobs 7. Mayes 8. Gustin.

   B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Wilson 2. Sodeman 3. Blair 4. Schroeder 5. Hunter 6. Rose 7. Neumeister 8. Lynch.

   Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. Campbell 2. Blaney 3. Baxter 4. Hockett 5. Ruble 6. May 7. Applegate 8. Hannagan.

   TP Wings Heat (8 laps): 1. Long 2. Smith 3. Chaney 4. Haudenschild 5. Agan 6. Coniam 7. Myers.

   Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Haudenschild 2. Kemenah 3. Blaney 4. Hunter.

   University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (12 laps): 1. Jacobs 2. Coniam 3. Rose 4. Hannagan 5. Mayes 6. Neumeister 7. Gustin 8. May 9. Applegate 10. Lynch 11. Myers (DNS).

   Haulmark A Main (30 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild 2. Tim Kaeding 3. Chad Kemenah 4. Randy Hannagan 5. Dean Jacobs 6. Rob Chaney 7. Danny Smith 8. Nick Naber 9. Jimmy Stinson 10. Jesse Hockett 11. Bill Rose 12. Ryan Coniam 13. Phil Gressman 14. Keith Baxter 15. Tim Hunter 16. Jon Agan 17. Barry Ruble 18. Butch Schroeder 19. Dale Blaney 20. Ron Blair 21. Jack Sodeman Jr. 22. Darren Long 23. Greg Wilson 24. Jeremy Campbell.

   Lap Leaders: Tim Kaeding 1-16, Jac Haudenschild 17-30.