Auburn’s Forsberg continues Placerville Speedway dominance in Civil War race.


By Bill Sullivan


PLACERVILLE, CA (6-24-06) – Auburn resident Andy Forsberg continued his streak of success at Placerville Speedway Saturday night, winning the fourth round of the Hoosier Racing Tires Civil War Sprint Car Series. The victory was Forsberg’s fourth victory of the year at the foothill speedway and his second win in the traveling Civil War series where the former two-time champion leads the point standings.

            Under triple digit temperatures, a total of 41 cars competed in Saturday’s event, which paid out over $14,000 in winnings and more than an additional $3,000 in contingency awards. For Forsberg the victory was worth additional championship points towards his point lead as he chases a third driving championship in the series this season.

            “I can’t believe how great this season has started off for us,” said Forsberg. “Things have just been going our way since we started and tonight were another example of it. There was a lot of lapped traffic to work through tonight and like I’ve said before when that’s the case sometimes your better to be a little more lucky than good out there.”

            After locking a starting spot in the 30-lap feature with a third place finish in the opening heat race, Forsberg started the money race on the outside of the second row behind Grass Valley’s Mark Hall, Scott Kinney of Sacramento and pole sitter Chad Roil of Roseville. When the green flag dropped the driver also known as “Mr. Excitement” went into action and began working his way to the front.

            While Kinney faded back two positions, Forsberg passed Hall in the opening laps and pulled beside Riolo to challenge for the lead. Both Riolo and Forsberg raced side by side in a nail biting battle for the lead, swapping the top position several times in the first four laps. Forsberg was able to break free of Riolo on lap five with a lead that grew stronger when Hall spun in the fourth turn a few positions back and forced much of the field to slow down to avoid a collision while Forsberg and Riolo distanced themselves from the pack.

            With just seven laps complete, Forsberg worked his way into lapped traffic with Riolo in pursuit. Before the event was half over, Riolo was being challenged by Indiana’s Brad Sweet  and Placerville’s Jimmy Trulli. Sweet had driven up from the ninth position in the Flachman owned #55 he was piloting for the night. Trulli started fifth in the original line up.

            At the 25 lap mark, Sweet overtook Riolo for second place and was joined in the top three by former champion Roger Crockett of Medford, OR. Crockett started 10th in the field and worked up to the top three despite being considerably slowed by the spinning Hall early in the race. Trulli also worked into the top four positions at this point.

            When the checkered flag flew on the race that ran nearly non-stop with the exception of one caution flag, Forsberg was the first to the checkered flag and was followed by Sweet, Crockett and Trulli. Riolo rounded out the top five at the finish line.

            “Lapped traffic was a really big part of this race tonight, going almost non-stop like we did,” said Forsberg. “There was a few times there I had to slow down and I was sure they were going to catch up with me while I was getting around the lapped cars. On a track like this lapped traffic is a regular thing and you have to be patient to get around them because they are racing for position too. I’m not a driver that expects a lapped car to just move out of my way, it’s part of racing to drive around it.”

            In preliminary action on Saturday the caution flag flew many times, including several red flags. Roll over victims for the night included Matt Petty of Jackson, Shawn Whitney of Camino, Mike Monahan of Reno, Bill Cornwell of Glenn Ellen and Herman Klein of Sacramento.

            The B-feature was won by Colby Weisz of Colfax who finished ahead of Klein and Sweet. Brad Bumgarner of Chico won the C-feature over Mark Tabor Sr. of Reno and Pat Harvey of Grass Valley. Heat races were claimed by Peter Murphy, Joey Magaruh, Korey Lovell and Roger Crockett.

            Saturday night was the first event utilizing the state of the art electronic scoring system that has undergone weeks of testing at Placerville Speedway. The system worked successfully and is a great addition to the facility, adding instant results and accuracy to scoring and results. The system will be used in every event in the future and as of this time all open wheel divisions are required to mount transponders in their cars to compete.

For complete results of Saturday’s race and  information on any of the upcoming Civil War Series events and complete point standings, log on to, the official website for the Civil War Series.